FORUMS

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Glimpse Notifications: Easier Lockscreen Notifications

Lollipop brought a revamp to the lockscreen, taking away custom widgets but … more

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

I messed up my N5. My IMEI is 0.

14th May 2014, 01:24 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I have 2 nexus 5's. My first one stopped working(dropped it, no internet connection anymore) so I got the second one. I backed everything up from my old nexus 5. I restored it to my new nexus 5. Without thinking I flashed over the new nexus 5's EFS. Now my IMEI is 0 and I cant connect to the network. (WiFi works just fine).

I have tried resetting my phone to stock but that doesn't do anything.

Is there anything I can do? I have been searching for IMEI changers for the past couple of hours but everything I have tried doesn't seem to work.

Edit: I know changing IMEI's is illegal, but is there something I can do besides that?
Last edited by ngbmameman; 14th May 2014 at 01:34 AM.
 
 
14th May 2014, 01:46 AM |#2  
jd1639's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,547
 
Donate to Me
More
Man, you're hosed. Flashing the imei from your previous device screwed you

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using XDA Free mobile app
14th May 2014, 01:55 AM |#3  
Lim Wee Huat's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Johor Bahru
Thanks Meter: 276
 
More
It's a confirmed gone case..
14th May 2014, 02:24 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Man, you're hosed. Flashing the imei from your previous device screwed you

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using XDA Free mobile app

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lim Wee Huat

It's a confirmed gone case..


Is there literally nothing I can do to solve this? I know changing IMEI is illegal but is setting it back to the original illegal? I have the original IMEI on the box it came in.
14th May 2014, 02:27 AM |#5  
jd1639's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,547
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ngbmameman

Is there literally nothing I can do to solve this? I know changing IMEI is illegal but is setting it back to the original illegal? I have the original IMEI on the box it came in.

There's nothing I can help you on. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
14th May 2014, 03:38 AM |#6  
CRIME INC.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag HENDERSONVILLE
Thanks Meter: 1,956
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ngbmameman

Is there literally nothing I can do to solve this? I know changing IMEI is illegal but is setting it back to the original illegal? I have the original IMEI on the box it came in.

There's nothing that you can do bro. Hope you have insurance on it.

Sent from my Nexus 5
justinisloco
14th May 2014, 03:48 AM |#7  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Just to confirm, because I know this is a mistake I would make, but would Google take it back and RMA it out? Or would it not be covered?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
14th May 2014, 03:54 AM |#8  
dingokevin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 386
 
More
It's lame but you would need to hard brick it and tell them it would not turn on. But still a lame move.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
14th May 2014, 11:33 AM |#9  
CitizenLee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 495
 
More
Sorry for your loss

I think you're best bet is to sell both for spares and buy another, then consider it a lesson learned the hard way.
justinisloco
14th May 2014, 11:44 AM |#10  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Too bad its too late to smash the past for the one plus one promo. This would have been win-win

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank