Enable the Hidden Notification LED on the Google Nexus 6!

LED notification lights have existed on Android devices since the very beginnings … more

MX Player Ready to Rock on Lollipop

A good video player should be reliable and free. One of the XDA Community Apps, MX Player, meets both of … more

How to Disable Data Encryption on Nexus 6

In late September, Google decided to step on NSA’s toes and turn on encryption by default in … more

DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ Review – XDA TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about gifts now? Youll be ahead … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Nexus 5 can I install 32gb SD card on my 16gb version?

OP nikssims

16th August 2014, 10:51 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
So, if I buy a 32 GB SD card original from 32gb version of nexus 5, can I install it on my nexus 5? Or the SD card is built into the motherboard and is non removable?
16th August 2014, 10:55 AM   |  #2  
wulsic's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nijmegen
Thanks Meter: 1,024
 
1,203 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikssims

So, if I buy a 32 GB SD card original from 32gb version of nexus 5, can I install it on my nexus 5? Or the SD card is built into the motherboard and is non removable?

The sdcard is actually flash memory i believe and no its non removable. You rather buy the whole motherboard from 32gb version and replace it with yours since replacing only the flash memory is pretty hard and if you have accidently bought an empty flash memory then you still cant do anything.

The only way to expand your 16gb is to use an sdcard reader like meenova and an kernel which also have support for the sdcard thing to automatically mount it etc so you can use it like an normal micro sdcard in the most other phones.
Last edited by wulsic; 16th August 2014 at 10:57 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to wulsic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th August 2014, 12:52 PM   |  #3  
Lethargy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere quiet.
Thanks Meter: 2,326
 
3,798 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Not sure if serious
16th August 2014, 12:59 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wulsic

The sdcard is actually flash memory i believe and no its non removable. You rather buy the whole motherboard from 32gb version and replace it with yours since replacing only the flash memory is pretty hard and if you have accidently bought an empty flash memory then you still cant do anything.

The only way to expand your 16gb is to use an sdcard reader like meenova and an kernel which also have support for the sdcard thing to automatically mount it etc so you can use it like an normal micro sdcard in the most other phones.

OK thanks
16th August 2014, 01:09 PM   |  #5  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,337
 
24,422 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lethargy

Not sure if serious

Yes. He thinks it has an SD card built in. Its actually eMMC though

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
16th August 2014, 01:26 PM   |  #6  
Lethargy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere quiet.
Thanks Meter: 2,326
 
3,798 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Yes. He thinks it has an SD card built in. Its actually eMMC though

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Might as well just buy multiple 32gb Nexus 5s instead of trying to replace it lol, the cost/effort isn't worth it. Of course you can just replace the whole board too.
16th August 2014, 03:02 PM   |  #7  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,337
 
24,422 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lethargy

Might as well just buy multiple 32gb Nexus 5s instead of trying to replace it lol, the cost/effort isn't worth it. Of course you can just replace the whole board too.

Yup

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes