Enable Call Recording on Xperia Z2 and Z3

Call recording, while not legal in every part of the world, is quite handy in certain situations. … more

Google Play Store Payments Available in China

Google has taken a big step to make its services accessible globally. Since the introduction of … more

How to Set a Video as Your Boot Animation

If you wish to make your phone truly unique, you may want to consider adding a nice boot animation. … more

TWRP for Nexus 6 and 9 Available, Unofficial CM12 Alpha for HTC Explorer! – XDA TV

Team Win Recovery Project for the Nexus 6 and Nexus … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Nexus 5 iso selection

OP Straits__

18th August 2014, 12:15 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Hi,

I was trying to change the ISO value on my nexus 5 and I discovered that google camera has not this feature. Therefore I tried to use another app (Camera FV-5 light) that allows the ISO selection but is seems that this option is disabled on my nexus 5 (grey colour of the writing and nothing happens if you click on it).

Then I installed the same app on the nexus 7 and this option works allowing to select the ISO.....

Is it a problem of my phone or of all nexus 5 devices?
Can anyone help me?

Thanks in advance for the help!
18th August 2014, 12:47 AM   |  #2  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 22,383
 
26,712 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Straits__

Hi,

I was trying to change the ISO value on my nexus 5 and I discovered that google camera has not this feature. Therefore I tried to use another app (Camera FV-5 light) that allows the ISO selection but is seems that this option is disabled on my nexus 5 (grey colour of the writing and nothing happens if you click on it).

Then I installed the same app on the nexus 7 and this option works allowing to select the ISO.....

Is it a problem of my phone or of all nexus 5 devices?
Can anyone help me?

Thanks in advance for the help!

the reason why its not in the google camera nor aosp camera app, and grayed out camera fv-5, is because the nexus 5 doesnt have the capability, it isnt available for the camera. so it shows up grayed out.
18th August 2014, 01:02 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22

the reason why its not in the google camera nor aosp camera app, and grayed out camera fv-5, is because the nexus 5 doesnt have the capability, it isnt available for the camera. so it shows up grayed out.


Thank you for the help! This means that it is an hardware issues? Or there is the possibility that the iso control will come with a future update?
It is a little displeasing to heard about since nexus 7 has this setting even with a lower (or almost not better) camera.....
18th August 2014, 01:19 AM   |  #4  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 22,383
 
26,712 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Straits__

Thank you for the help! This means that it is an hardware issues? Or there is the possibility that the iso control will come with a future update?
It is a little displeasing to heard about since nexus 7 has this setting even with a lower (or almost not better) camera.....

i dont think its hardware, i think its software related. but google is doing many new good things with the cam, lots of new code they are working on and that they already put out for developers to start working on.. i think iso will come.
18th August 2014, 01:41 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22

i dont think its hardware, i think its software related. but google is doing many new good things with the cam, lots of new code they are working on and that they already put out for developers to start working on.. i think iso will come.

I hope so! But sorry.....a further opinion (since I'm not an expert of hardware or software matters)...

If it is only software related, why if I change app (from Google Camera to, eg, Camera FV-5 light) still I miss the ISO setting?
Is it depend on the OS? But why on Nexus 7 with the same OS and Camera FV-5 light I'm able to do it?

Thank you again!
18th August 2014, 01:53 AM   |  #6  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 22,383
 
26,712 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Straits__

I hope so! But sorry.....a further opinion (since I'm not an expert of hardware or software matters)...

If it is only software related, why if I change app (from Google Camera to, eg, Camera FV-5 light) still I miss the ISO setting?
Is it depend on the OS? But why on Nexus 7 with the same OS and Camera FV-5 light I'm able to do it?

Thank you again!

again, because its not enabled to do so. if not enabled, an app isnt going to change things(maybe a root app that changes system files). as of right now, it cant.
18th August 2014, 07:12 PM   |  #7  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,317
 
24,410 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
I have an app called "pro capture" which offers "exposure" settings to + or - 2. I'm not sure exactly what this does. Typically exposure is a combination of aperture, shutter speed and ISO.

ISO is a sensitivity to light. Exposure compensation in a real camera would adjust the the shutter if you were in aperture priority mode. It would adjust the aperture if you were in shutter priority mode. None of these are controllable on the nexus so not sure what this app is doing. Some sort of software post processing I imagine.

Here are a couple of shots with + 2, 0 and - 2










Is it worth buying the app? Probably not. I bought it for wide-screen shots but I only use Google now as it has higher than 2mpix wide now.

Does it benefit us in anyway? Probably not other than avoiding brightening a dark image in a image editor afterwards

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
18th August 2014, 07:24 PM   |  #8  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 22,383
 
26,712 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

I have an app called "pro capture" which offers "exposure" settings to + or - 2. I'm not sure exactly what this does. Typically exposure is a combination of aperture, shutter speed and ISO.

ISO is a sensitivity to light. Exposure compensation in a real camera would adjust the the shutter if you were in aperture priority mode. It would adjust the aperture if you were in shutter priority mode. None of these are controllable on the nexus so not sure what this app is doing. Some sort of software post processing I imagine.

Here are a couple of shots with + 2, 0 and - 2










Is it worth buying the app? Probably not. I bought it for wide-screen shots but I only use Google now as it has higher than 2mpix wide now.

Does it benefit us in anyway? Probably not other than avoiding brightening a dark image in a image editor afterwards

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

both google camera and aosp camera offer exposure settings, in the google cam you have to enable it in options..




The Following User Says Thank You to simms22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th August 2014, 07:59 PM   |  #9  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,317
 
24,410 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Excellent. Thread closed then :]

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes