Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,211 Members 51,478 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Nexus 5 iso selection

Tip us?
 
Straits__
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default [Q] Nexus 5 iso selection

Hi,

I was trying to change the ISO value on my nexus 5 and I discovered that google camera has not this feature. Therefore I tried to use another app (Camera FV-5 light) that allows the ISO selection but is seems that this option is disabled on my nexus 5 (grey colour of the writing and nothing happens if you click on it).

Then I installed the same app on the nexus 7 and this option works allowing to select the ISO.....

Is it a problem of my phone or of all nexus 5 devices?
Can anyone help me?

Thanks in advance for the help!
 
simms22
Old
#2  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 21,423
Posts: 25,782
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BROOKLYN!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Straits__ View Post
Hi,

I was trying to change the ISO value on my nexus 5 and I discovered that google camera has not this feature. Therefore I tried to use another app (Camera FV-5 light) that allows the ISO selection but is seems that this option is disabled on my nexus 5 (grey colour of the writing and nothing happens if you click on it).

Then I installed the same app on the nexus 7 and this option works allowing to select the ISO.....

Is it a problem of my phone or of all nexus 5 devices?
Can anyone help me?

Thanks in advance for the help!
the reason why its not in the google camera nor aosp camera app, and grayed out camera fv-5, is because the nexus 5 doesnt have the capability, it isnt available for the camera. so it shows up grayed out.
Google+ Profile
Twitter Simms22
DerKernel For Trinity kernels and more!
 
Straits__
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22 View Post
the reason why its not in the google camera nor aosp camera app, and grayed out camera fv-5, is because the nexus 5 doesnt have the capability, it isnt available for the camera. so it shows up grayed out.

Thank you for the help! This means that it is an hardware issues? Or there is the possibility that the iso control will come with a future update?
It is a little displeasing to heard about since nexus 7 has this setting even with a lower (or almost not better) camera.....
 
simms22
Old
#4  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 21,423
Posts: 25,782
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BROOKLYN!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Straits__ View Post
Thank you for the help! This means that it is an hardware issues? Or there is the possibility that the iso control will come with a future update?
It is a little displeasing to heard about since nexus 7 has this setting even with a lower (or almost not better) camera.....
i dont think its hardware, i think its software related. but google is doing many new good things with the cam, lots of new code they are working on and that they already put out for developers to start working on.. i think iso will come.
Google+ Profile
Twitter Simms22
DerKernel For Trinity kernels and more!
 
Straits__
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22 View Post
i dont think its hardware, i think its software related. but google is doing many new good things with the cam, lots of new code they are working on and that they already put out for developers to start working on.. i think iso will come.
I hope so! But sorry.....a further opinion (since I'm not an expert of hardware or software matters)...

If it is only software related, why if I change app (from Google Camera to, eg, Camera FV-5 light) still I miss the ISO setting?
Is it depend on the OS? But why on Nexus 7 with the same OS and Camera FV-5 light I'm able to do it?

Thank you again!
 
simms22
Old
#6  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 21,423
Posts: 25,782
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BROOKLYN!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Straits__ View Post
I hope so! But sorry.....a further opinion (since I'm not an expert of hardware or software matters)...

If it is only software related, why if I change app (from Google Camera to, eg, Camera FV-5 light) still I miss the ISO setting?
Is it depend on the OS? But why on Nexus 7 with the same OS and Camera FV-5 light I'm able to do it?

Thank you again!
again, because its not enabled to do so. if not enabled, an app isnt going to change things(maybe a root app that changes system files). as of right now, it cant.
Google+ Profile
Twitter Simms22
DerKernel For Trinity kernels and more!
 
rootSU
Old
#7  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11,335
Posts: 22,382
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
I have an app called "pro capture" which offers "exposure" settings to + or - 2. I'm not sure exactly what this does. Typically exposure is a combination of aperture, shutter speed and ISO.

ISO is a sensitivity to light. Exposure compensation in a real camera would adjust the the shutter if you were in aperture priority mode. It would adjust the aperture if you were in shutter priority mode. None of these are controllable on the nexus so not sure what this app is doing. Some sort of software post processing I imagine.

Here are a couple of shots with + 2, 0 and - 2

 









Is it worth buying the app? Probably not. I bought it for wide-screen shots but I only use Google now as it has higher than 2mpix wide now.

Does it benefit us in anyway? Probably not other than avoiding brightening a dark image in a image editor afterwards

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!

**Sticky Roll-up: All Guides snd Info Threads linked here**



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
simms22
Old
#8  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 21,423
Posts: 25,782
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BROOKLYN!
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
I have an app called "pro capture" which offers "exposure" settings to + or - 2. I'm not sure exactly what this does. Typically exposure is a combination of aperture, shutter speed and ISO.

ISO is a sensitivity to light. Exposure compensation in a real camera would adjust the the shutter if you were in aperture priority mode. It would adjust the aperture if you were in shutter priority mode. None of these are controllable on the nexus so not sure what this app is doing. Some sort of software post processing I imagine.

Here are a couple of shots with + 2, 0 and - 2

 









Is it worth buying the app? Probably not. I bought it for wide-screen shots but I only use Google now as it has higher than 2mpix wide now.

Does it benefit us in anyway? Probably not other than avoiding brightening a dark image in a image editor afterwards

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
both google camera and aosp camera offer exposure settings, in the google cam you have to enable it in options..




Google+ Profile
Twitter Simms22
DerKernel For Trinity kernels and more!
The Following User Says Thank You to simms22 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rootSU
Old
#9  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11,335
Posts: 22,382
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Excellent. Thread closed then :]

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!

**Sticky Roll-up: All Guides snd Info Threads linked here**



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.

The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Submitting a Patch to Gerrit – Featuring XplodWild – XDA Developer TV

Not every developer specializes in every area of … more

Learn How to Make a Live Wallpaper all by Yourself

Stillimages can bebeautiful, but some of you prefer to see animations on your screens. … more

Google Play Services Updated to Version 6.1

In addition to Android operating system proper, Google is focusing hard on giving the developers … more

CyanogenMod 11 M10 Available for Supported Devices

Summer vacation isover for most students out there, and it’s the time to get back to … more