Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Nexus 5 + Miracast / Screencast disconnecting

OP nadavn

20th March 2014, 07:34 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Hi everyone,

I'm trying to play with them miracasting dongles for a project I'm working on.

Just got myself a dongle from ebay, seems to work (producing video). However, upon attaching with Screen Cast (under display options) it works for 10-12 seconds and automatically disconnects without reconnecting.

Happened the same with a different Nexus 5 and a Nexus 7.

All devices were rooted, all have stock on them (4.4.2).


I've read somewhere that this issue might happen as part of a DRM mechanism (at Samsung Galaxy devices). When the Flash Counter is bigger than 0' the exact same smypthom happens.

Although I'm stocked, I did flash my phones (had to, they came with 4.4 and I wanted 4.4.2). CWM etc.


Anyone seen this issue? overcame it? couldn't find a lot of details about this in Nexus devices ..
30th March 2014, 07:24 AM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
anyone?
12th April 2014, 08:03 PM   |  #3  
TheXorg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Germany, Thüringen
Thanks Meter: 143
 
309 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
I've got a nexus 4 and it's also not working with a Samsung Smart TV. TV says Connected but it cancels before i See anything.

BUT:
I found a way to get miracast working on Nexus 7 (2012) (unoffical) and it works. But here the TV shows me a pin code which i have to enter on the tablet..

Anyone solution? It cant be true that this works unoffically on a device which doesnt support it and doesnt works on a device which supports it...

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 08:03 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:36 PM ----------

I think i know why. WiDi is secured with HDCP, but if you flash your phone, HDCP won't work anymore. So go to Settings → Developer Settings → HDCP checking → Never use HDCP checking. Now it should work (it now works at mine &#128522 good luck

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
13th April 2014, 10:07 AM   |  #4  
TheXorg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Germany, Thüringen
Thanks Meter: 143
 
309 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
~ EDIT ~
Install offical AOSP and DONT ROOT and it will work. Miracast/WiDi doen't work on rooted devices.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 10:07 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:04 AM ----------

* or if your devices are rooted, install TWRP, mount /system, go to Advanced -> File Manager. Then delete /system/app/Superuser.apk (delete supersu / superuser apk file) and rename /system/xbin/su to "sup" or sth. So you don't have to root it again.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
13th April 2014, 05:49 PM   |  #5  
compuw22c's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago, IL
Thanks Meter: 226
 
592 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheXorg

~ EDIT ~
Install offical AOSP and DONT ROOT and it will work. Miracast/WiDi doen't work on rooted devices.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 10:07 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:04 AM ----------

* or if your devices are rooted, install TWRP, mount /system, go to Advanced -> File Manager. Then delete /system/app/Superuser.apk (delete supersu / superuser apk file) and rename /system/xbin/su to "sup" or sth. So you don't have to root it again.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Sorry, this is inaccurate. Miracast (which is very different from Chromecast) DOES in fact work on rooted devices. I have one in my car (going to my head unit) that's worked just fine on both my nexus 4 and 5 rooted. Maybe Google is using root to try and lock down Chromecast somehow but I'd double check that as well. I think koush's Mirror app may even require it and I believe it works with Chromecast. I'd spindle check that though. But Miracast certainly works with root.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes