Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

Micromax Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Nexus 5- "No OS installed"

OP idksomuch

5th May 2014, 05:54 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Hey guys and I apologize in advanced if theres any reasons I shouldn't be posting this thread.
Anyways, a few hours ago I tried to do a factory reset in recovery mode and I got to the page in TWRP where I could wip dalvik and cache but I selected the "system" option as well (it's a long story how I managed to accidentally tap that) and now when I reboot from recovery, it says "No OS installed." So now when I power off my Nexus and power it back on, the screen lights up and "GOOGLE" appears, the part right before the nexus logo appears during power up, but my phone stays at the Google logo and doesn't move. When I connect my device to my comp, my phone isn't recognized and so I can't add the factory rom onto my phone and I've tried to follow several procedures that I found on xda and other sites. Anyone know what I can do? Again, sorry if this is in the wrong forum or if it's been asked many times before or anything but I really need help since I don't think google will RMA my phone since it's bootloader is unlocked and rooted.
5th May 2014, 06:24 AM   |  #2  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,453
 
4,239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
If you want to go with stock then flash the factory images: https://developers.google.com/androi...mmerheadkot49h

If you want a custom rom then boot into twrp and push the rom and gapps to your phone via adb push and then flash it via recovery the usual way..

You can also flash directly from a flash drive via recovery if you have an OTG cable with you.

- Sent from an IceCold Hammerhead!
5th May 2014, 06:32 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Garde ceolled
Quote:
Originally Posted by vin4yak

If you want to go with stock then flash the factory images:
If you want a custom rom then boot into twrp and push the rom and gapps to your phone via adb push and then flash it via recovery the usual way..

You can also flash directly from a flash drive via recovery if you have an OTG cable with you.

- Sent from an IceCold Hammerhead!

Honestly, thanks for the quick response but I'm not sure how to use adb push or even how to sideload the rom from pc to phone. I just feel incredibly stupid and angry at myself because I let myself screw up my phone like this after only 2 months (I'm still a student in high school and I spent my own money on this phone so $400 is alot to me.) I downloaded the Nexus Rootkit from wugfrsh but I haven't had any luck yet.
5th May 2014, 06:39 AM   |  #4  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,453
 
4,239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by idksomuch

Honestly, thanks for the quick response but I'm not sure how to use adb push or even how to sideload the rom from pc to phone. I just feel incredibly stupid and angry at myself because I let myself screw up my phone like this after only 2 months (I'm still a student in high school and I spent my own money on this phone so $400 is alot to me.) I downloaded the Nexus Rootkit from wugfrsh but I haven't had any luck yet.

Mannn, you really need to read all the stickies before screwing your device..

Follow this thread to get back to stock: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2513701

To sideload a rom/gapps from twrp, follow this: http://teamw.in/ADBSideload

- Sent from an IceCold Hammerhead!
5th May 2014, 06:54 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Oh yay, I managed to fix it with the WugFresh toolkit. Turns out that I waited just a few seconds shy of the actual program completing its thing. I just thought it wasn't working since it was doing the same thing for 5 mins straight but this second time, it actually completed everything faster so I should've just waited. Anyways, thanks for the help ^ and I'll be sure to read the stickies and be more careful this time!
The Following User Says Thank You to idksomuch For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th May 2014, 07:03 AM   |  #6  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,453
 
4,239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Just a suggestion, stay away from toolkits as much as possible. They do more damage than good.
If you get stuck in some toolkit process, you don't know what's the toolkit actually doing behind your back.

Read the stickies, setup adb/fastboot and do everything manually. It only takes few minutes + you get learn something new!

- Sent from an IceCold Hammerhead!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to vin4yak For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th May 2014, 08:08 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by vin4yak

Just a suggestion, stay away from toolkits as much as possible. They do more damage than good.
If you get stuck in some toolkit process, you don't know what's the toolkit actually doing behind your back.

Read the stickies, setup adb/fastboot and do everything manually. It only takes few minutes + you get learn something new!

- Sent from an IceCold Hammerhead!

Thanks! I will this time.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes