Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Nexus 5 power button doesn't work anymore

OP PeauMorte

13th May 2014, 02:57 PM   |  #11  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,453
 
4,239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
I think the bootloader needs to be unlocked first for "fastboot boot twrp.img" to work? Isn't it? If unlocking wasn't necessary, everyone would've just booted recoveries to root their phones. (so that the sdcard doesn't get erased).

I sincerely doubt that the OP has an unlocked bootloader.
13th May 2014, 03:03 PM   |  #12  
Primokorn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,802
 
4,968 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vin4yak

I think the bootloader needs to be unlocked first for "fastboot boot twrp.img" to work? Isn't it? If unlocking wasn't necessary, everyone would've just booted recoveries to root their phones. (so that the sdcard doesn't get erased).

I sincerely doubt that the OP has an unlocked bootloader.

Actually I never tried fastboot boot command on a locked bootloader. If it requires an unlocked bootloader and OP has a locked one I have no idea to recover his data.
13th May 2014, 03:33 PM   |  #13  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primokorn

Actually I never tried fastboot boot command on a locked bootloader. If it requires an unlocked bootloader and OP has a locked one I have no idea to recover his data.

Please guy ! You're a genius !
I love you !
I just used the reboot comand and my phone goes On !
Now I can back up my files

(Ps : For the people who'll have the same problem, you have to use your charger with you're computer and keep pressing the volume down while putting the charger in the phone to go in boot menu, but be carfully, you can't shutdown after that only solution, remove batery !)

13th May 2014, 03:41 PM   |  #14  
Primokorn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,802
 
4,968 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeauMorte

Please guy ! You're a genius !
I love you !
I just used the reboot comand and my phone goes On !
Now I can back up my files

(Ps : For the people who'll have the same problem, you have to use your charger with you're computer and keep pressing the volume down while putting the charger in the phone to go in boot menu, but be carfully, you can't shutdown after that only solution, remove batery !)

Happy for you... and your data
The Following User Says Thank You to Primokorn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th May 2014, 03:49 PM   |  #15  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primokorn

Happy for you... and your data

I'll just ask a last question because you're a super user of twrp, the back up fonctionality could work if I use it on this phone and the put it in my new nexus sent by google ?
Thanks a lot again and have a good day, you made mine.
The Following User Says Thank You to PeauMorte For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th May 2014, 04:29 PM   |  #16  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,453
 
4,239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeauMorte

I'll just ask a last question because you're a super user of twrp, the back up fonctionality could work if I use it on this phone and the put it in my new nexus sent by google ?
Thanks a lot again and have a good day, you made mine.

Yes, you can! Just make sure you don't restore the /efs partition which contains the imei and other files which are unique to every device!

- Sent from an IceCold Hammerhead!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes