FORUMS

Which Lockscreen Security Type Do You Use?

From pattern locks to the controversial face unlock, there are a number of different ways you … more

Xposed 3.0 Alpha 3 Released

A new alpha for the Xposed framework is out and brings several bug fixes. You’ll only need to flash … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more

Sunday Debate: Custom ROMs vs. Modular Tweaks

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Mods and ROMs. Come with your opinions and feel free to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

just got nexus 5, problem already

26th February 2014, 07:20 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
hi all

Just got my nexus 5, booted it up and it got to the pick a language screen, went to change it and nothing! the touch screen just was not working..i could not turn it off as i could not press power off when i switched the button etc...it was like this for about 10 mins...i phoned the place i got it from and was in the middle of boxing it up to return it when all of a sudden bam! it worked! i have been using it for the past hour and its fine! switched it on and off dozens of times and its perfect!

Anyone else had this? i get 28 days to send it back if its faulty but they said on the phone they would check to see if it was faulty before sending out replacement and if they got it now it would look like there is nothing wrong..so i guess ill have to see how it goes
 
 
26th February 2014, 07:41 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 248
 
More
It's working perfectly for me since unboxing,so wait and see,if this problem will appear again,return it.
26th February 2014, 08:06 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 215
 
More
I had this happen with both a Nexus 4 and a Nexus 5 after flashing a factory image. I ended up rebooting using the power + vol down combination.

My guess is that it's just a bug in the Setup app.
26th February 2014, 08:14 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raptir

I had this happen with both a Nexus 4 and a Nexus 5 after flashing a factory image. I ended up rebooting using the power + vol down combination.

My guess is that it's just a bug in the Setup app.

Thanks ill keep an eye on it ,see how it goes..
26th February 2014, 09:29 PM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisnewton

hi all

Just got my nexus 5, booted it up and it got to the pick a language screen, went to change it and nothing! the touch screen just was not working..i could not turn it off as i could not press power off when i switched the button etc...it was like this for about 10 mins...i phoned the place i got it from and was in the middle of boxing it up to return it when all of a sudden bam! it worked! i have been using it for the past hour and its fine! switched it on and off dozens of times and its perfect!

Anyone else had this? i get 28 days to send it back if its faulty but they said on the phone they would check to see if it was faulty before sending out replacement and if they got it now it would look like there is nothing wrong..so i guess ill have to see how it goes

Next time if you want to turn it off long long pressing the power button will eventually turn it off
26th February 2014, 09:48 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fleen

Next time if you want to turn it off long long pressing the power button will eventually turn it off

Thanks I'll try that if it happens again
15th March 2014, 02:13 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Well my Nexus touch screen went again today so back it's gone.. Gutted!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank