Post Reply

Nexus 5 not registering on T-mobile Network

21st May 2014, 02:38 PM   |  #1  
Raphael17's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Marietta
Thanks Meter: 2
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Phone's Settings read
Mobile Network Type- Unknown
Service State- Out of Service
Mobile Network State- Disconnected

My IMEI still shows up and I can connect to WIFI and bluetooth. The only problem is I can't get a signal, not 2G or 3G (even LTE)

This started happening out of nowhere, I tried taking out the sim, factory resetting, wiping caches, changing the APNs, restarting the phone, and I even put the sim in a new phone (It got signal).

If anyone has any ideas I'm all ears! What's the point of this amazing phone if I can't call people with it?
21st May 2014, 07:22 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Philly
Thanks Meter: 22
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
How long did you have the phone before this happened? Did you dial *#*#4636#*#* to check the phone info and change the network type?

I had a similar issue, but I think mine was a lot worse due to a dirty flash. I ended up having to do a fastboot recovery to restore it to factory.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
22nd May 2014, 06:07 AM   |  #3  
OuncE718's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag DC by way of BK
Thanks Meter: 311
 
2,015 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raphael17

Phone's Settings read
Mobile Network Type- Unknown
Service State- Out of Service
Mobile Network State- Disconnected

My IMEI still shows up and I can connect to WIFI and bluetooth. The only problem is I can't get a signal, not 2G or 3G (even LTE)

This started happening out of nowhere, I tried taking out the sim, factory resetting, wiping caches, changing the APNs, restarting the phone, and I even put the sim in a new phone (It got signal).

If anyone has any ideas I'm all ears! What's the point of this amazing phone if I can't call people with it?

What service are you with? I had this same exact issue a week ago with an LG G2. My Sim card would work in my Nexus 5 but wouldn't work in the G2.

After numerous factory resets I eventually called Metro PCS (my carrier) and I was told that whenever I put my Sim Card into a new phone I must always contact them and give them the new IMEI # so that the phone can work.

The Metro PCS rep claimed that they have a feature that disables the Sim from working in an unauthorized phone. I guess its to help with theft.

neXus 5
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank