Guide to Dual Boot Snapdragon Note 4

Dual Boot is one of the most desirable features for a flashaholic, and with this guide by XDA … more

Has ART Made a Noticeable Jump in App Performance?

We’ve received mixed reports about switching to ART but it seems that the … more

Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge Drop Test

The Samsung Galaxy S6 and Galaxy S6 Edge are already proving to be amongst the head turners of 2015. … more

Consolidated GApps Central

Following the retirement of Paranoid Android GApps Provider TKruzze and subsequent deletion of … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Nexus 5 slow down!

22nd August 2014, 10:53 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Hi,

recently i have noticed my Nexus 5 acting strangely. A couple of tasks have become very slow while the rest of the phone is fine.

Taking pictures normally is fine but when I try to take a HDR now it will take one, take an age to process it and will lock up the camera in the mean time.

Also taking a screenshot takes an age, first theres a delay then it takes long for it to save.

Finally when i come out of an app to the home screen's there is a 2-3 second phase where all it shows is the wallpaper and nothing else.

Other general use and using apps etc seems fine. Iv tried restarting but noting changed.

Anybody else having similar issues? any solutions to this.
23rd August 2014, 12:30 AM   |  #2  
Darth's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Big scary planet destroying space station.
Thanks Meter: 6,318
 
16,129 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Easiest fix is probably just backing up your apps and data with titanium backup and clean flashing the firmware again. Should weed out any troubles.

And give you a fresh clean start.

Just don't erase your internal SD.
23rd August 2014, 02:24 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
yh your probably right, by clean flashing the firmware, do you mean factory reset.

I haven't rooted etc
23rd August 2014, 04:04 AM   |  #4  
Darth's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Big scary planet destroying space station.
Thanks Meter: 6,318
 
16,129 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurkzZ

yh your probably right, by clean flashing the firmware, do you mean factory reset.

I haven't rooted etc

You can try factory reset.

But I actually meant flash the firmware with fastboot.

---------- Post added at 11:04 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:02 PM ----------

If you have custom recovery, you can also try just wiping cache and dalvik cache first.
23rd August 2014, 04:25 AM   |  #5  
Sandman-007's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Newnan
Thanks Meter: 2,252
 
3,123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
@KJ you silly you don't need a custom recovery to wipe cache/dalvik :P
The Following User Says Thank You to Sandman-007 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd August 2014, 04:29 AM   |  #6  
Darth's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Big scary planet destroying space station.
Thanks Meter: 6,318
 
16,129 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandman-007

@KJ you silly you don't need a custom recovery to wipe cache/dalvik :P

I've never used stock recovery on any device for anything. Lol

But good to know. 👌
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes