HTC M9 S-OFF In Less Than 24 Hours – No ETA On Release

HTC devices are no stranger to XDA’s Senior Recognized Developers … more

April Fools Round Up: The Year of Nostalgia

April Fools Day is once again upon us and as usual, tech companies everywhere have not … more

Android 5.1 OTA for Nexus Round-Up

The beginning of April is dominated by April Fools. There are jokes and pranks everywhere, which are … more

Official Lollipop for LG G2 Captured

LG is rolling out the Lollipop update for the LG G2. KDZ images for both 16 GB and 32 GB variants … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Is this possible on nexus 5 on T-Mobile?

15th April 2014, 09:30 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Washington, IL.
Thanks Meter: 187
 
947 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
I know the nexus 5 on T-Mobile does not have the WiFi calling feature. I don't know if that is due to lack of hardware or software. With that, I was wondering if it was possible being rooted by means of a ROM or kernel or some sort of mod?

If so, could you kindly point me in the direction of it?

Thank you,
Whiteice

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
15th April 2014, 09:32 PM |#2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 16,374
 
27,862 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
There's no mod for this at the moment. Not sure what the restriction is but I've seen it asked many times here. You may learn the restriction if you search

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th April 2014, 09:41 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,091
 
2,884 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

There's no mod for this at the moment. Not sure what the restriction is but I've seen it asked many times here. You may learn the restriction if you search

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

there's alot of stuff that tmobile has to add to the phone for it to be able to work. some framework, APIs, and special RIL.

its not possible since none of this information is known.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Zepius For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2014, 07:38 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteiceDMSTech

I know the nexus 5 on T-Mobile does not have the WiFi calling feature. I don't know if that is due to lack of hardware or software. With that, I was wondering if it was possible being rooted by means of a ROM or kernel or some sort of mod?

If so, could you kindly point me in the direction of it?

Thank you,
Whiteice

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

I just purchased my N5 from T-mo last month here in the states. One of the features that sold me on it was the ability for it to do calls over wifi. I have tested it as I was in Canada and when calling my v-mail it did not recognise my caller-id so it prompted me for a password. So long story short, it should be able to call over WiFi natively.
This is just my $0.02
23rd April 2014, 07:40 PM |#5  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 16,374
 
27,862 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
It can't

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
23rd April 2014, 08:37 PM |#6  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 23,737
 
28,891 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_candyman

I just purchased my N5 from T-mo last month here in the states. One of the features that sold me on it was the ability for it to do calls over wifi. I have tested it as I was in Canada and when calling my v-mail it did not recognise my caller-id so it prompted me for a password. So long story short, it should be able to call over WiFi natively.
This is just my $0.02

the nexus 5 doesnt have the software nor, very importantly, tmobiles framework for wifi calling to work. the great thing about owning nexus devices is that carriers do not have access to them to install all their carrier crap on them, wifi calling being one of those. its not as simple as just installing an app to have it work. it needs tmobiles framework built into it as well.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes