Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Nexus 5 on Ting

OP YoungGun821

25th February 2014, 12:55 AM   |  #1  
YoungGun821's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag El Sobrante, Ca
Thanks Meter: 2
 
143 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Has anyone successfully activated their Nexus 5 on the Ting network recently? Do I still need a Sprint SIM card?
I ordered mine and Google says will ship March 7th..
25th February 2014, 01:13 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Flag Tustin, CA
Thanks Meter: 10
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I activated my N5 on Ting about 3 weeks ago. They make it very easy. You do need a Sprint Sim card which you can either get from:

1) Ting for $10, (Ships on the 28th)
2) Bestbuy for $30 (most stores have them in stock, this is the easiest way to get one if you're impatient)
3) Ask around at Sprint stores and see if a manager will give you one. This works for some, but it didn't work for me.

I was too eager to wait for Ting to get more in stock, so I overpaid at Bestbuy. Once you have the SIM it's easy to activate. Check out this chicks blog if you have any questions. She was very thorough.

https://calomel.org/ting_nexus_5.html
The Following User Says Thank You to Slade412 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th February 2014, 03:45 PM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Fort Wayne
Thanks Meter: 25
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoungGun821

Has anyone successfully activated their Nexus 5 on the Ting network recently? Do I still need a Sprint SIM card?
I ordered mine and Google says will ship March 7th..

It works without incident on the stock ROM. There are some custom ROMS where LTE will not work. Sadly, OMNI is one of those ROMS where LTE won't work. I know LTE works on SlimKat
The Following User Says Thank You to GBP85 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th March 2014, 11:04 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by GBP85

It works without incident on the stock ROM. There are some custom ROMS where LTE will not work. Sadly, OMNI is one of those ROMS where LTE won't work. I know LTE works on SlimKat

Sorry to dredge up an old(ish) post, but is there a list of custom roms that LTE will and will not work on for Ting? I've been running the stock rom for the past little while, but only because I assumed that none of them would run LTE.
28th March 2014, 06:56 PM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Fort Wayne
Thanks Meter: 25
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zx92027xz

Sorry to dredge up an old(ish) post, but is there a list of custom roms that LTE will and will not work on for Ting? I've been running the stock rom for the past little while, but only because I assumed that none of them would run LTE.

This list hasn't been updated since Novermber, but I decided to go back to stock and am using Xposed Frameworks and Gravity Box, with Faux Kernal and I have a great phone.

Enjoy
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes