Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,495 Members 37,742 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Nexus 5 touchscreen stopped working.

Tip us?
 
teunnk
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Nexus 5 touchscreen stopped working.

Hello,

My Xperia Z broke and I sold it. Last week I bought a Nexus 5 (white) and yesterday the touchscreen suddenly stopped working while browsing twitter. I rebooted and the touchscreen worked for 1 sec and then it stopped working again. It keeps working for 1 - 5 sec and then stops.
Is there a way I can fix this? The phone is rooted because I wanted to copy WhatsApp over from another phone because I lost my sim bound to whatsapp.

I can go to the shop I bought it and get it fixed under warranty because I did not do anything weird with the phone nor dropped it. but first I want to see if it can be fixed from home or if it is a software problem because the shop is a hour drive and I don't want to do without my phone for another 2 weeks.

Here is a video how it looks: youtube(dot)com/watch?v=EsSyC50Dksw

Thanks in advance!
 
tangosierra_
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 169
Posts: 799
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Singapore
Have you tried flashing the factory image?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Devices:
Current - LG Nexus 5, franco.Kernel r11, Cataclysm ROM
Current Tablet - Ainol Novo 7 Aurora II, CyanogenMod 10.1 Unofficial
Sony Ericsson Xperia X10, CyanogenMod 7.2 Unofficial, spoilt battery
Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S, Stock 4.1.B.0.587, lost back cover, spoilt microUSB port
HTC HD2, NexusHD CM10.2
Apple iPad 3 - iOS 6.0 Jailbroken

Minimalistic Holo Blue Whatsapp+ Theme
Nexus One boot animation for Nexus 5
How to Change DPI?
 
teunnk
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tangosierra_ View Post
Have you tried flashing the factory image?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Can you send me a link to a tutorial?

Thanks!
 
mistahseller
Old
#4  
mistahseller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 797
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Saint Louis
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2513701
 
teunnk
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistahseller View Post
Thanks! Will try now
 
teunnk
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tangosierra_ View Post
Have you tried flashing the factory image?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Done. The touchscreen is still doing the same thing.
 
teunnk
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by teunnk View Post
Done. The touchscreen is still doing the same thing.
I guess it's just broken then, I'll get it fixed.

Thanks for the help!
 
mistahseller
Old
#8  
mistahseller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 797
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Saint Louis
Quote:
Originally Posted by teunnk View Post
I guess it's just broken then, I'll get it fixed.

Thanks for the help!
Make sure you lock boot loader unroot etc reset tamper flag

Sent from The Deathstar
 
teunnk
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistahseller View Post
Make sure you lock boot loader unroot etc reset tamper flag

Sent from The Deathstar
I tried to lock the bootloader whilst in fastboot mode but cmd doesn't recognize the command?
 
teunnk
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by teunnk View Post
I tried to lock the bootloader whilst in fastboot mode but cmd doesn't recognize the command?
Ah, went to the directory in cmd and then did the command, locked now. thanks again!
almost forgot to lock it ;3

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Flyme OS Finds Its Way to the Google Nexus 5

Flyme OS is a heavily modified Android variantdeveloped by the Meizu team for their MX … more

MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more

Jair Player with a Major Update–Here’s What’s New!

Back in May, we talked a bit aboutJair Player, a nice looking music … more