FORUMS

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (June 27 – July 4)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

HTC One M9 Developer Edition Android 5.1 OTA

The Developer Edition of the HTC One M9 is receiving an over-the-air update to Android 5.1. … more

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

Nexus 5 Unlock Root Without Wipe

60 posts
Thanks Meter: 4
 
By dastimlein, Member on 4th December 2013, 02:03 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi,
the question is already in the header.
Is it possible to Root/Unlock Bootloader without wipe?
I only found a Nexus 4 thread for that. I costumized my phone already... i dont want to reinstall everything
 
 
4th December 2013, 02:13 PM |#2  
crachel's Avatar
Senior Moderator
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 2,839
 
More
To unlock bootloader without data wipe you would need to have root. To have root without an unlocked bootloader on Nexus devices, there would need to be an exploit found in Android 4.4. As far as I know, this does not exist. So, to answer your question: it is possible if an exploit for root exists
The Following User Says Thank You to crachel For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th December 2013, 03:46 PM |#3  
beekay201's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,208
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dastimlein

I costumized my phone already... i dont want to reinstall everything

On another note:

This is why, on a Nexus device, you unlock the bootloader right after checking USB port is working fine. You can always lock it back if you take good care of your USB port/cable.

a hammerhead wrote this.
The Following User Says Thank You to beekay201 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th January 2014, 06:16 PM |#4  
andQlimax's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 929
 
Donate to Me
More
why still no exploit for kitkat ?

I'm lazy to wipe and i didn't unlocked the bootloader on first day because i did want to stay stock this time (what a bad idea)
30th January 2014, 06:19 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,093
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by andQlimax

why still no exploit for kitkat ?

I'm lazy to wipe and i didn't unlocked the bootloader on first day because i did want to stay stock this time (what a bad idea)

because its so easy to unlock no one cares to look.

if you want to root, unlock your bootloader and get over it.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Zepius For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th January 2014, 09:05 PM |#6  
andQlimax's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 929
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zepius

because its so easy to unlock no one cares to look.

if you want to root, unlock your bootloader and get over it.

Yeah, I know how to... Its not that the point
I was just a bit sarcastic.. Its not that much dramatic
But I'm still lazy to wipe
I'm that lazy to wipe that I'm looking to find an exploit by myself

Inviato dal mio Nexus 5 utilizzando Tapatalk
30th January 2014, 09:35 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 636
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by andQlimax

Yeah, I know how to... Its not that the point
I was just a bit sarcastic.. Its not that much dramatic
But I'm still lazy to wipe
I'm that lazy to wipe that I'm looking to find an exploit by myself

Inviato dal mio Nexus 5 utilizzando Tapatalk

You can backup/restore almost everything needed via apps or adb, even without root. Apps, texts, call logs, bookmarks, etc.The amount of time wasted finding an exploit that isn't available and you could be done wiping, rooting, logging back into your accounts, and enjoying the benefits of root.
30th January 2014, 11:08 PM |#8  
jd1639's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,848
 
Donate to Me
More
If you're that lazy why are looking for an exploit yourself. That didn't sound lazy to me
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th February 2014, 11:37 AM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by es0tericcha0s

You can backup/restore almost everything needed via apps or adb, even without root. Apps, texts, call logs, bookmarks, etc.The amount of time wasted finding an exploit that isn't available and you could be done wiping, rooting, logging back into your accounts, and enjoying the benefits of root.

I'm in the OP's situation -- set up the phone, convinced myself I wouldn't need root this time, but having second thoughts. My main concern is that adb backup -> wipe -> adb restore will "miss" something, and I won't be able to get it back. There's no one specific thing I'm worried about, just a sort of nagging concern.

I'm thinking of waiting until my previous phone is fixed (busted USB port...) then doing my test-restore there. That should work, right?
20th February 2014, 12:14 PM |#10  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 18,645
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghengis042

I'm thinking of waiting until my previous phone is fixed (busted USB port...) then doing my test-restore there. That should work, right?

Yeah.

There's also helium. Cant hurt to take multiple backups.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes