App Review: Calculating Your Android Calculator Options

Sure, everyone has a default Calculator and its something that you dont think about … more

MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more
Post Reply

nexus 5 unresponsive screen

8th April 2014, 11:01 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 3
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
This morning I got a text and went to unlock my phone, and suddenly the screen wasn't working and I could see dim horizontal lines on the screen which are flickering. All buttons work perfectly fine and I have a live wallpaper which is still working, it seems that everything is working fine except for the touchscreen. I tried soft resetting it a few times, nothing makes a difference.. at this time it has been about 6 hours and the screen is still unresponsive. The phone isn't rooted and is completely stock.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
Last edited by Cam R; 9th April 2014 at 12:40 AM. Reason: incomplete
9th April 2014, 04:04 PM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 3
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
BUMP! I really need help with this issue..
9th April 2014, 04:13 PM   |  #3  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,181
 
3,709 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Donate to Me
More
Hi,

Looks like a hardware failure to me... RMA is asap.. Nothing much you can do about an unresponsive screen...
9th April 2014, 05:09 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
326 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
I doubt this is the problem. On another forum screen protector was interfering with proximity sensor of the phone. Just throwing that out there.
9th April 2014, 05:24 PM   |  #5  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,102
 
8,462 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam R

This morning I got a text and went to unlock my phone, and suddenly the screen wasn't working and I could see dim horizontal lines on the screen which are flickering. All buttons work perfectly fine and I have a live wallpaper which is still working, it seems that everything is working fine except for the touchscreen. I tried soft resetting it a few times, nothing makes a difference.. at this time it has been about 6 hours and the screen is still unresponsive. The phone isn't rooted and is completely stock.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

Probably a defective digitizer, RMA or repair under warranty bro. Good luck.
9th April 2014, 10:24 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 3
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gee2012

Probably a defective digitizer, RMA or repair under warranty bro. Good luck.

I figured as much, I was hoping there was a quick fix.. I have a skin on the phone which i doubt ill be able to save when I get a replacement, also.. I have no way to backup my phone that I'm aware of.

Thanks though.
9th April 2014, 10:32 PM   |  #7  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,102
 
8,462 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam R

I figured as much, I was hoping there was a quick fix.. I have a skin on the phone which i doubt ill be able to save when I get a replacement, also.. I have no way to backup my phone that I'm aware of.

Thanks though.

You can backup your apps and its data with adb. Type in cmd: adb backup -apk -noshared -all -nosystem. To restore later type: adb restore backup.ab. Can`t you copy files from the phone to the pc? Here are some more adb commands http://forum.xda-developers.com/gala...-root-t1420351.
Last edited by gee2012; 9th April 2014 at 10:38 PM.
10th April 2014, 12:43 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 3
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gee2012

You can backup your apps and its data with adb. Type in cmd: adb backup -apk -noshared -all -nosystem. To restore later type: adb restore backup.ab. Can`t you copy files from the phone to the pc? Here are some more adb commands http://forum.xda-developers.com/gala...-root-t1420351.

Hi, Thanks for your help. I can't seem to get it to work, would having a passcode have something to do with it?
10th April 2014, 12:46 AM   |  #9  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,102
 
8,462 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cam R

Hi, Thanks for your help. I can't seem to get it to work, would having a passcode have something to do with it?

I never use a password, you can set one though, you can create the password yourself mate

Verstuurd vanaf mijn Nexus 5 met Tapatalk
Last edited by gee2012; 10th April 2014 at 12:51 AM.
10th April 2014, 12:58 AM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 3
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gee2012

I never use a password, you can set one though, you can create the password yourself mate

Verstuurd vanaf mijn Nexus 5 met Tapatalk

You misunderstood . I have a passcode, would it be interfering with being able to do anything from my pc? I don't seem to be having any luck -.- . Since the touchscreen is unresponsive, I can't do anything from the phone aside from factory reset..which I don't want to do.

When I open command prompt and type in "adb devices" My phone doesn't come up.. I downloaded all latest drivers and programs, followed a guide.. and it still doesnt work. I'm not sure hahah.
Last edited by Cam R; 10th April 2014 at 01:19 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank