Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,194 Members 41,884 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Nexus 5 won't get 3G or 4G network

Tip us?
 
vaximily
Old
#31  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 25
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22 View Post
first off, im proud of you

well, the only thing i can think of is the nexus 5 has a shorter antenna then many other of the high end phones, one of the many reasons why it costs so much less than others. it would be interesting to compare another nexus 5. or have you?
I haven't directly side by side, but a buddy has one and hasn't experienced these issues (he also lives in a much more Urban area than me, where I also don't experience those issues).

Interestingly, once I got back into an area where I was getting LTE coverage, then came back toward home, I was able to get on 3G on the towers with issues, so perhaps updating the radio fixed it after all, I just had to get somewhere that the phone could figure things out first. I was on the oldest (KFS78N) last night, but I'm going to try KRT16M tonight and see how it goes.
 
porga
Old
#32  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 45
Join Date: Jun 2009
I have same issue, which started a week ago. In area 30 kilometers from home, where I work, i get LTE signal. But at home or on the way to work i get Edge only. However HSPA appears prom time to time, for example today when i was several hundred meters from antenna. I do not know is this is hardware issue, should I carry it to service?
 
howard bamber
Old
#33  
howard bamber's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 169
Posts: 1,254
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Southport
Dumb question butttt have you checked out the hardware ie the ariels are making good contacts

#64268gkyJL#8653%dhjGUKVS357.
 
TheEndGame7
Old
(Last edited by TheEndGame7; 20th July 2014 at 06:35 PM.)
#34  
TheEndGame7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 112
Posts: 649
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Coral Springs, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Question: Where did you purchase the device?

I know one reason it could be having this issue.. because I've witnessed it hands on with 2 Nexus 5's! I found out the person I was getting them from was changing the IMEI's and after the were Bad! "Not Suggestion Anything!" Just letting you know my experience!

Good Luck!

______________
Current Phone:
Nexus 5 (MultiRom) Official MIUI 4.5.30) "BlackedOut"
Testing Device:
None
_______________
Previous Phone:
(MetroPCS) Flashed almost every CDMA device in the past!
_______________
Tested Devices:
HTC ThunderBolt (1st One Rooted!)
MotoActv (8GB) Rooted! The time is now 1:14:4:18:15:9:4
Tags
lte, nexus 5, wcdma
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Remove Unnecessary WhatsApp Elements with Xposed

In modern life, you can’t underestimate the power ofthe dark sidemessaging … more

MaR-V-iN to Talk Google and Android APIs at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of September … more

But First, Let Me Take a #Selfie

“Today while browsing XDA,I’m going tocheck to seeif my favorite ROM has been updated–but … more