Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,448 Members 41,236 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Nexus 5 won't get 3G or 4G network

Tip us?
 
vaximily
Old
#31  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 25
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22 View Post
first off, im proud of you

well, the only thing i can think of is the nexus 5 has a shorter antenna then many other of the high end phones, one of the many reasons why it costs so much less than others. it would be interesting to compare another nexus 5. or have you?
I haven't directly side by side, but a buddy has one and hasn't experienced these issues (he also lives in a much more Urban area than me, where I also don't experience those issues).

Interestingly, once I got back into an area where I was getting LTE coverage, then came back toward home, I was able to get on 3G on the towers with issues, so perhaps updating the radio fixed it after all, I just had to get somewhere that the phone could figure things out first. I was on the oldest (KFS78N) last night, but I'm going to try KRT16M tonight and see how it goes.
 
porga
Old
#32  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 47
Join Date: Jun 2009
I have same issue, which started a week ago. In area 30 kilometers from home, where I work, i get LTE signal. But at home or on the way to work i get Edge only. However HSPA appears prom time to time, for example today when i was several hundred meters from antenna. I do not know is this is hardware issue, should I carry it to service?
 
howard bamber
Old
#33  
howard bamber's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 178
Posts: 1,271
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Southport
Dumb question butttt have you checked out the hardware ie the ariels are making good contacts

#64268gkyJL#8653%dhjGUKVS357.
 
TheEndGame7
Old
(Last edited by TheEndGame7; 20th July 2014 at 06:35 PM.)
#34  
TheEndGame7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 114
Posts: 654
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Coral Springs, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Question: Where did you purchase the device?

I know one reason it could be having this issue.. because I've witnessed it hands on with 2 Nexus 5's! I found out the person I was getting them from was changing the IMEI's and after the were Bad! "Not Suggestion Anything!" Just letting you know my experience!

Good Luck!

______________
Current Phone:
Nexus 5 (MultiRom) so I try them all!
Testing Device:
To many to name! I switch up my devices constantly!
_______________
Previous Phone:
(MetroPCS) Flashed almost every CDMA device in the past!
_______________
Tested Devices:
HTC ThunderBolt (1st One Rooted!)
MotoActv (8GB) Rooted! The time is now 1:14:4:18:15:9:4
 
siren215
Old
#35  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 37
Join Date: Oct 2012
I am facing a similar issue.

My sim in N5 = no 3g signal in my office area/catches 3g signal in other city areas(occasionally)
My sim in Note 2= 3g signal is all areas
Note 2 (same carrier) sim in N5=no 3g signal in my office area/catches 3g signal in other city areas(occasionally)
Note 2 (same carrier) sim in Note 2= 3g in all areas

I hope i am specific. What to do to get 3g like other phones. I am on Airtel(India). APN are correct and same as of my Note 2.
I have changed preffered network type to WCDMA only in *#*#4636#*#* and it gets 3g signal. But i doubt it will catch 2g(edge) when 3g isnt that strong or unavailable.

Please help guys, this thing is driving me crazy.

Thank You
  • Device : Google Nexus 5
  • ROM : Stock
  • Kernel : Stock


Past : Sony Ericsson T610, Nokia 3500 Classic, Nokia 7210 Supernova, Samsung Galaxy GT-i5510, HTC Desire SV
Tags
lte, nexus 5, wcdma
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Paid Android App Developers Will Soon Have to Provide Physical Address

Google has now changed its policies regarding paid app developers. … more

Windows Developers Rejoice! Dev Program’s $99 Yearly Fee is No More!

Microsoft rule in the mobile market, much like the giant dinosaurs … more

Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more

Android App Review: Control Your Phone with Quick Control Panel – XDA Developer TV

Your Android smart device has many features that you … more