5,597,354 Members 32,084 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Are all Nexus 5's unlocked?

Tip us?
 
idigg
Old
#11  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 102
Join Date: Aug 2012
Just got off Tmobile Chat and the IMEI is blocked. I'm so f'ing pissed. Tmobile said to contact the owner and have them call Tmobile. I'm so confused and I got majorly ripped off. Good times.
The Following User Says Thank You to idigg For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
trevor.bman
Old
#12  
trevor.bman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 174
Posts: 265
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Phoenix

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by idigg View Post
Just got off Tmobile Chat and the IMEI is blocked. I'm so f'ing pissed. Tmobile said to contact the owner and have them call Tmobile. I'm so confused and I got majorly ripped off. Good times.
i was about to get N5 off craigslist lol im glad i seen this ill just pay full price
 
drdagreenphd
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 125
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lake Elsinore
I have one that is clean and barely used if you are still interested. Woman switched to the iPhone 5s today. Inbox me if you are interested.
 
Intub8
Old
#14  
Intub8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 179
Posts: 679
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by idigg View Post
Just got off Tmobile Chat and the IMEI is blocked. I'm so f'ing pissed. Tmobile said to contact the owner and have them call Tmobile. I'm so confused and I got majorly ripped off. Good times.
Do you have any info of the person you bought if from. I always try to get a license plate of their vehicle just in case.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium HD app
 
divinewisdom
Old
#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 136
Join Date: Nov 2009
You are screwed if the guy you bought it from isn't the original owner, that could be the reason why it wasn't wiped.

From what I hear the only way to get it delisted is to have the original owner, the one that reported it stolen call in. If he is the guy that you bought it from have the police make him call T-Mobile or give you a refund.
 
pkny
Old
#16  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 57
Join Date: Nov 2007
THis is going off topic, but speaking of unlock phones.
What frequency is the Northamerican one missing that makes it can't work over seas?
Google play store shows that is has almost every frequency band needed.
 
korockinout13
Old
#17  
korockinout13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 519
Posts: 1,989
Join Date: Oct 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkny View Post
THis is going off topic, but speaking of unlock phones.
What frequency is the Northamerican one missing that makes it can't work over seas?
Google play store shows that is has almost every frequency band needed.
I'm pretty sure the north American one has more frequencies. Wikipedia is a good place to look.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Nexus 5 16GB on T-Mobile LTE: CM 11 + hells-core + TWRP || Nexus 7 2012 32GB: Stock 4.4 + Xposed + franco + TWRP
Nexus 4 (cracked )|AT&T Samsung Galaxy SII i777 (sold)|AT&T Samsung Galaxy S Captivate i897 (sold)

All in One Guide for Samsung i897 Captivate, i9000 Galaxy S
Get extra space on Copy or Dropbox with a new account!
 
nldxda
Old
#18  
nldxda's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 300
Join Date: Jan 2011
Track topic

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
rootSU
Old
#19  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7410
Posts: 17,953
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkny View Post
THis is going off topic, but speaking of unlock phones.
What frequency is the Northamerican one missing that makes it can't work over seas?
Google play store shows that is has almost every frequency band needed.
Most information on Bands for the D820 is taken from google's info, which I'm sure you won't believe but is actually not accurate. The maximum LTE bands the WTR1605L included in the MSM8794 of the snapdragon 800 is 7, which is actually the most any chip today can do - BUT teh google site and many other sites list 9 bands - which isn't quite right.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2131705

The D821 does:
LTE: Bands: 1/3/5/7/8/20

The D820 is reported to do:
LTE: Bands: 1/2/4/5/17/19/25/26/41

However, looking at the box of the N5, you'll only see 7 listed:

Always read the OP's of a thread and the last 2 pages before asking questions, unless there has been an update - in which case, read the last 5 pages!

nexus 5 | SlimKat | ElementalX kernel | Philz Touch Recovery

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
dingokevin
Old
#20  
dingokevin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 330
Posts: 1,133
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Diego
If T-Mobile works well in your area and your not in a contact use straight talk

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Search before you post
Remember, we cant fix stupid or lazy. Please read the whole OP and the first and last 5 pages of this thead!


Cause its a NEXUS
Click Thanks if I helped you out!


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes