Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Are all Nexus 5's unlocked?

OP idigg

23rd January 2014, 02:37 AM   |  #11  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Just got off Tmobile Chat and the IMEI is blocked. I'm so f'ing pissed. Tmobile said to contact the owner and have them call Tmobile. I'm so confused and I got majorly ripped off. Good times.
The Following User Says Thank You to idigg For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd January 2014, 03:06 AM   |  #12  
trevor.bman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 188
 
277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by idigg

Just got off Tmobile Chat and the IMEI is blocked. I'm so f'ing pissed. Tmobile said to contact the owner and have them call Tmobile. I'm so confused and I got majorly ripped off. Good times.

i was about to get N5 off craigslist lol im glad i seen this ill just pay full price
23rd January 2014, 03:36 AM   |  #13  
Senior Member
Flag Lake Elsinore
Thanks Meter: 36
 
125 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I have one that is clean and barely used if you are still interested. Woman switched to the iPhone 5s today. Inbox me if you are interested.
23rd January 2014, 03:44 AM   |  #14  
Intub8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 211
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by idigg

Just got off Tmobile Chat and the IMEI is blocked. I'm so f'ing pissed. Tmobile said to contact the owner and have them call Tmobile. I'm so confused and I got majorly ripped off. Good times.

Do you have any info of the person you bought if from. I always try to get a license plate of their vehicle just in case.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium HD app
23rd January 2014, 04:58 AM   |  #15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
You are screwed if the guy you bought it from isn't the original owner, that could be the reason why it wasn't wiped.

From what I hear the only way to get it delisted is to have the original owner, the one that reported it stolen call in. If he is the guy that you bought it from have the police make him call T-Mobile or give you a refund.
23rd January 2014, 06:58 AM   |  #16  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
THis is going off topic, but speaking of unlock phones.
What frequency is the Northamerican one missing that makes it can't work over seas?
Google play store shows that is has almost every frequency band needed.
23rd January 2014, 07:51 AM   |  #17  
korockinout13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 532
 
2,026 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkny

THis is going off topic, but speaking of unlock phones.
What frequency is the Northamerican one missing that makes it can't work over seas?
Google play store shows that is has almost every frequency band needed.

I'm pretty sure the north American one has more frequencies. Wikipedia is a good place to look.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
23rd January 2014, 08:54 AM   |  #18  
nldxda's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
421 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Track topic

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
23rd January 2014, 12:25 PM   |  #19  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,970
 
25,184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkny

THis is going off topic, but speaking of unlock phones.
What frequency is the Northamerican one missing that makes it can't work over seas?
Google play store shows that is has almost every frequency band needed.

Most information on Bands for the D820 is taken from google's info, which I'm sure you won't believe but is actually not accurate. The maximum LTE bands the WTR1605L included in the MSM8794 of the snapdragon 800 is 7, which is actually the most any chip today can do - BUT teh google site and many other sites list 9 bands - which isn't quite right.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2131705

The D821 does:
LTE: Bands: 1/3/5/7/8/20

The D820 is reported to do:
LTE: Bands: 1/2/4/5/17/19/25/26/41

However, looking at the box of the N5, you'll only see 7 listed:

24th January 2014, 04:15 AM   |  #20  
dingokevin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 386
 
1,228 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
If T-Mobile works well in your area and your not in a contact use straight talk

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes