Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Nexus Screen gets colored pixel snow

OP rozin

8th July 2014, 11:15 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
I have a nexus 5 rooted with stock rom and kernel and stock recovery+ xposed+GravityBox and some other xposed modules.
this happened sunday and again today.
I unlocked the screen and then the screen looked like that:


even on reboot the screen still was with the pixel snow
and after a few minutes of locking and unlocking repeatedly the screen turned OK again.
couldn't find a lot of information online.
does anyone knows why has this happened?
has someone experienced this kind of failure?
any advice?
thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20140708-WA0007.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	256.5 KB
ID:	2840906  
9th July 2014, 02:49 AM   |  #2  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,448
 
4,237 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
It's a hardware failure. Most probably the screen or the Flex cable went bad. It can only be solved by replacing it.
The Following User Says Thank You to vin4yak For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th July 2014, 03:33 AM   |  #3  
doctor_droid's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,850
 
4,237 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Definitely a hardware fault.... Had exactly the same screen on my n86 when the repair guyz told me that flex cable was damaged...
The Following User Says Thank You to doctor_droid For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th July 2014, 11:24 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
thanks..
the problem is I bought the phone on ebay and had it sent to my uncle who was in the states for a business trip and then he brought it to me when he finished his trip.
I'm not from the US so I don't know who should I complain to :\
sending it back to the US and **** will take a lot of time and probably money
9th July 2014, 11:44 AM   |  #5  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,448
 
4,237 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rozin

thanks..
the problem is I bought the phone on ebay and had it sent to my uncle who was in the states for a business trip and then he brought it to me when he finished his trip.
I'm not from the US so I don't know who should I complain to :\
sending it back to the US and **** will take a lot of time and probably money

Totally depends on the device's IMEI. If the IMEI if not of the country you're residing in, warranty goes out of the window. In any case, you need to send it in to get it fixed whether it's under warranty or not.

Good Luck
9th July 2014, 01:43 PM   |  #6  
doctor_droid's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,850
 
4,237 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vin4yak


Totally depends on the device's IMEI. If the IMEI if not of the country you're residing in, warranty goes out of the window. In any case, you need to send it in to get it fixed whether it's under warranty or not.

Good Luck

Changing the flex cable won't cost alot...
If the screen is damaged (i hope its not) it will hurt...
So best is to get it done from local lg service center ..as u have no warranty by any means


Wrong post quoted
The Following User Says Thank You to doctor_droid For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes