Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Perma Brick?

OP neoneras

17th February 2014, 08:35 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Vilnius
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
My friend was running completely same setup of latest RastaKat + trinity kernel on N5. This morning device rebooted randomly with factory settings and reported Gallery and Camera stopped working after booting to Android, SIM card was not recognized and internal storage was unavailable. I tried to flash full stock firmware package, unfortunatly cache and userdata coudn't be erased/formated, flashing failed (tried force flash setting on recovery and flash manually as well).
Phone boots to same old RastaKat ROM after everything I've done to him.
I'm completely lost, is it a hardware fault or simple software incident? Any help appreciated and sorry for my English
Last edited by neoneras; 17th February 2014 at 08:46 PM.
17th February 2014, 08:42 PM   |  #2  
GUGUITOMTG4's Avatar
Senior Member
GuGuPlace
Thanks Meter: 202
 
544 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoneras

My friend was running completely same setup of latest RastaKat + trinity kernel on N5. This morning device rebooted randomly with factory settings and reported Gallery and Camera stopped working after booting to Android, SIM card was not recognized and internal storage was unavailable. I tried to flash full stock firmware package, unfortunatly cache and userdata coudn't be erased/formated, flashing failed (tried force flash setting on recovery and flash manually as well).
Phone boots to same old after everything I've done to him.
I'm completely lost, is it a hardware fault or simple software incident? Any help appreciated and sorry for my English

Does the phone show up on the computer/device manager? if so, does it have the name it used to have?[COLOR="Silver"]

---------- Post added at 02:42 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:37 PM ----------


Also, did you follow these methods 1&2? if you only did # 1, try # 2
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2513701
17th February 2014, 08:50 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Vilnius
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Yep, it responds to fastboot commands with either success or failed responses. It shows in my computer under media devices but I can't access internal storage.
17th February 2014, 08:54 PM   |  #4  
GUGUITOMTG4's Avatar
Senior Member
GuGuPlace
Thanks Meter: 202
 
544 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoneras

Yep, it responds to fastboot commands with either success or failed responses. It shows in my computer under media devices but I can't access internal storage.

go to the link I posted above
17th February 2014, 08:56 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Vilnius
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
on flashing bootloader I get:
Quote:

sending 'bootloader' (2508 KB)...
OKAY [ 0.287s]
writing 'bootloader'...
FAILED (remote: flash write failure)
finished. total time: 0.487s

17th February 2014, 09:02 PM   |  #6  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,288
 
8,933 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoneras

on flashing bootloader I get:

Flash memory failure (emmc bug), i`am afraid there is nothing you can do anymore. The motherboard has to be replaced.
The Following User Says Thank You to gee2012 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 09:03 PM   |  #7  
GUGUITOMTG4's Avatar
Senior Member
GuGuPlace
Thanks Meter: 202
 
544 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoneras

on flashing bootloader I get:

put phone o fastboot mode and lock it typing
"fastboot oem lock"
if it doesn't work, It is pointing to bad emmc
The Following User Says Thank You to GUGUITOMTG4 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 09:09 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Flag Vilnius
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GUGUITOMTG4

put phone o fastboot mode and lock it typing
"fastboot oem lock"
if it doesn't work, It is pointing to bad emmc

thanks for replies. Well, now only thing that's left is to convince warranty that is emmc problem and should be covered as warranty
17th February 2014, 09:13 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 223
 
847 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Can you tell me pls if your friend used any toolkit on rooting his Nexus?
Because it's important to me to know,if so,I will be aware of toolkits like hot iron. xD
17th February 2014, 09:17 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Flag Vilnius
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simonna

Can you tell me pls if your friend used any toolkit on rooting his Nexus?
Because it's important to me to know,if so,I will be aware of toolkits like hot iron. xD

no, original unlock and root was done using my own hands and terminal shell

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes