5,815,061 Members 37,532 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Can't Use My Phone with CM11 For Developing

Tip us?
 
jack_the_beast
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default Can't Use My Phone with CM11 For Developing

Hi to all, I wanto to use my CM11 nesus 5 for developing but I've run in a problem. I've activated developer mode on the phone but when I try to start my application from Eclipse I get the attached screen, and the button at the end of the window is disabled, so I can launch my app. other devices with stock android works. CM version is: 11-20140702-NIGHTLY-hammerhead

anyone have a solution?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	deviceselect_zps23f226a7.png
Views:	76
Size:	11.2 KB
ID:	2902064  
 
beekay201
Old
#2  
beekay201's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,127
Posts: 4,644
Join Date: Nov 2010
Run another ROM? Dat simple, it isn't like all people use CM or even custom roms. IMO, you should be testing dev progress under stock Android.

Anyways... Can you connect to your device through ADB? Do you have the very latest version of the sdk?
hammerhead/omni-KTU84P/stock#3.4.0/M8974A-2.0.50.1.13
maguro/aosp-KRT16O/custom#3.0.101/XXLJ1
manta/omni-KTU84P/custom#3.4.39
XDA forum rules here
bug report? logcat and /proc/kmsg, or it "never happened".
How TO Ask questions on the Internet
aosp-maguro READFIRST here (credit: efrant)
aosp-gnex READSECOND here (credit: efrant)
 
Primokorn
Old
#3  
Primokorn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,248
Posts: 4,138
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Annecy

 
DONATE TO ME
I used Eclipse this weekend with the 08-18 nightly and my device was correctly recognized.

Try this:
• Reboot your phone
• Disable then enable usb debugging
• Close Eclipse, kill then relaunch adb server
• Do not use a 3.0 usb port
• Did u validate the warning pop up? ("Allow USB debugging?")
Nexus 5 | Ask any questionDark XDAGetting started on XDA

LGE Nexus 5 | TWRP Recovery | OptiPurity | Uber!!!


Quote:
Searching can take less time than waiting for an answer
 
jack_the_beast
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by beekay201 View Post
Run another ROM? Dat simple, it isn't like all people use CM or even custom roms. IMO, you should be testing dev progress under stock Android.

Anyways... Can you connect to your device through ADB? Do you have the very latest version of the sdk?
in case of a production app, of course but it's for educational purpose and the nexus 5 stock rom is pretty unusable in everyday life

sure, last version. I did not completly understand what do you mean with "connect to your device through ADB"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Primokorn View Post
I used Eclipse this weekend with the 08-18 nightly and my device was correctly recognized.

Try this:
Reboot your phone
Disable then enable usb debugging
Close Eclipse, kill then relaunch adb server
Do not use a 3.0 usb port
Did u validate the warning pop up? ("Allow USB debugging?")
already tried, no result
 
bm19981217
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 23
Join Date: Jun 2014
I think he was asking if your phone is shown correctly in ADB devices and can be used with ADB (ADB push etc.)

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
 
simms22
Old
#6  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 21,480
Posts: 25,857
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BROOKLYN!
if you are developing apps for android, then cm would be a terrible rom to use. stock android and aosp android use the same base, the same thats in the aosp source. cm doesnt use it, cm bases on CAF. if you get apps working on cm, it doesnt mean that they will work on android. and of the user base, cm is a very small percentage. if i wanted to get an app out to as many people as possible, id use stock or aosp android.

and why do you say stock is unusable? its extremely usable, no issues with it, it runs great. maybe you were doing something wrong?
Google+ Profile
Twitter Simms22
DerKernel For Trinity kernels and more!
 
jack_the_beast
Old
(Last edited by jack_the_beast; 21st August 2014 at 08:06 AM.)
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bm19981217 View Post
I think he was asking if your phone is shown correctly in ADB devices and can be used with ADB (ADB push etc.)
how can I check this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22 View Post
if you are developing apps for android, then cm would be a terrible rom to use. stock android and aosp android use the same base, the same thats in the aosp source. cm doesnt use it, cm bases on CAF. if you get apps working on cm, it doesnt mean that they will work on android. and of the user base, cm is a very small percentage. if i wanted to get an app out to as many people as possible, id use stock or aosp android.
You're right, but as I said, it's just for educational purpose, it's a university project.

Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22 View Post
and why do you say stock is unusable? its extremely usable, no issues with it, it runs great. maybe you were doing something wrong?
A small example: if you want to disable wifi on the stock, you have to: pull down the notification window, tap on the upper right corner to show the shortcuts, tap on wifi icon, it opens the wifi section of the settings, and then you can disable it. With cm I pull down and tap the wifi icon. I can also customize all the shortcut. however I think we are going off topic
 
simms22
Old
(Last edited by simms22; 21st August 2014 at 02:14 AM.)
#8  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 21,480
Posts: 25,857
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BROOKLYN!
Quote:
Originally Posted by jack_the_beast View Post
jow can I check this?



You're right, but as I said, it's just for educational purpose, it's a university project.



A small example: if you want to disable wifi on the stock, you have to: pull down the notification window, tap on the upper right corner to show the shortcuts, tap on wifi icon, it opens the wifi section of the settings, and then you can disable it. With cm I pull down and tap the wifi icon. I can also customize all the shortcut. however I think we are going off topic
ill be honest, my n5 never booted up stock even once. first time my phone booted was after rooting and installing rastakat rom and trinity kernel, l only then i let my phone for the first time. but i never thought about that, as it always was an option for me
Google+ Profile
Twitter Simms22
DerKernel For Trinity kernels and more!
 
Lethargy
Old
#9  
Lethargy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,654
Posts: 2,957
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by jack_the_beast View Post
A small example: if you want to disable wifi on the stock, you have to: pull down the notification window, tap on the upper right corner to show the shortcuts, tap on wifi icon, it opens the wifi section of the settings, and then you can disable it. With cm I pull down and tap the wifi icon. I can also customize all the shortcut. however I think we are going off topic
Pull it down with two fingers, long press WiFi tile. Stock isn't as bad as you think, you just don't know how it works.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyphur
You ask us to understand your position. Well if you want to benefit from our experience and time then I think it is only fair that you understand our position.
I actively add ignorant people to my ignore list.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes