FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

The radio SUCKS!

1,431 posts
Thanks Meter: 377
 
By markdapimp, Senior Member on 15th February 2014, 05:28 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I'm sitting at home nice good HSPA+ Signal then all of a sudden it just drops the EDGE
my other phone (iPhone is still on HSPA+ no issues) great so I toggle airplane mode on and off boom still edge, so I reboot and boom STILL EDGE
After a while it reconnect to HSPA+ or until it picks up LTE

Does this happen to you? It seems the radio got even crappier with 4.4.2

Im fully stock 100% I have 2 Nexus 5 units in hand one is from T-Mobile one is from play store both experience the same problem

Does anyone know if this is software or hardware Antenna or qFE1100 and does this happen to you?

Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NLUqguZS1Q8
 
 
15th February 2014, 05:43 PM |#2  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 19,635
 
More
Never had this issue. Tried reflashing the old radio back?

This should be in q&a by the way

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
15th February 2014, 05:44 PM |#3  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 26,838
 
More
no issues here as well.
15th February 2014, 06:06 PM |#4  
rayiskon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,282
 
More
Both nexus 4 and 5 suffer from signal drops.
LG and Samsung made devices in general have weaker antennas than Motorola/Apple for example.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
15th February 2014, 06:08 PM |#5  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 19,635
 
More
My nexus is much better than my S3

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
15th February 2014, 06:09 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 357
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdapimp

I'm sitting at home nice good HSPA+ Signal then all of a sudden it just drops the EDGE
my other phone (iPhone is still on HSPA+ no issues) great so I toggle airplane mode on and off boom still edge, so I reboot and boom STILL EDGE
After a while it reconnect to HSPA+ or until it picks up LTE

Does this happen to you? It seems the radio got even crappier with 4.4.2

Im fully stock 100% I have 2 Nexus 5 units in hand one is from T-Mobile one is from play store both experience the same problem

Does anyone know if this is software or hardware Antenna or qFE1100 and does this happen to you?

Not the same issues but I have seen litle quirks with the latest modem. Flash the .15 modem.. I get the best results with it

I'm on sprint BTW so no hspa but with the .23,radio my phone is less eager to connect from 3g to lte unless I airplane mode it
15th February 2014, 06:14 PM |#7  
wideasleep1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 531
 
More
This happens connected to your cel-fi?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
15th February 2014, 06:51 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 377
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wideasleep1

This happens connected to your cel-fi?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Yes this happens with normal towers and my Cel-fi
The Following User Says Thank You to markdapimp For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift markdapimp Ad-Free
15th February 2014, 07:16 PM |#9  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 977
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdapimp

I'm sitting at home nice good HSPA+ Signal then all of a sudden it just drops the EDGE
my other phone (iPhone is still on HSPA+ no issues) great so I toggle airplane mode on and off boom still edge, so I reboot and boom STILL EDGE
After a while it reconnect to HSPA+ or until it picks up LTE

Does this happen to you? It seems the radio got even crappier with 4.4.2

Im fully stock 100% I have 2 Nexus 5 units in hand one is from T-Mobile one is from play store both experience the same problem

Does anyone know if this is software or hardware Antenna or qFE1100 and does this happen to you?

Didn't you just post this exact thread yesterday? You said Google wanted you to get a new device, so do that first.
15th February 2014, 07:19 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 377
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

Didn't you just post this exact thread yesterday? You said Google wanted you to get a new device, so do that first.

Yes but it seems new or not they all have the issue I tested 5 of my friends with nexus 5's all of them report exact same issue
I also managed to catch my 2 units on video
15th February 2014, 07:23 PM |#11  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 4,006
 
More
Where i live i even have H+ indoors, couldn`t get that with a samsung or htc. So nothing wrong with the radio for me.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes