Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,079 Members 50,893 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Is Mahdi-Rom AOSP or CM (CAF) based?

Tip us?
 
matthewle96
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Aug 2014
Default [Q] Is Mahdi-Rom AOSP or CM (CAF) based?

Is Mahdi-Rom AOSP or CM (CAF) based?
I've been researching of this for the whole night last night but keep on finding mixed answer.
and now I'm hoping for you guys to answer me...i wanted to install elemental x but don't know which version to install aosp or cm
and will franco kernel be comparable since its for aosp?

Thanks soooo much to who ever answer this...!
 
Lethargy
Old
#2  
Lethargy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,625
Posts: 2,920
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthewle96 View Post
Is Mahdi-Rom AOSP or CM (CAF) based?
I've been researching of this for the whole night last night but keep on finding mixed answer.
and now I'm hoping for you guys to answer me...i wanted to install elemental x but don't know which version to install aosp or cm
and will franco kernel be comparable since its for aosp?

Thanks soooo much to who ever answer this...!
Its AOSP with CAF stuff in it. Just flash one and if it doesn't boot reflash the ROM and flash the other.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyphur
You ask us to understand your position. Well if you want to benefit from our experience and time then I think it is only fair that you understand our position.
I actively add ignorant people to my ignore list.
 
matthewle96
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Aug 2014
Default Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lethargy View Post
Its AOSP with CAF stuff in it. Just flash one and if it doesn't boot reflash the ROM and flash the other.
so just to make sure that franco is FULLY comparable with this rom?
 
Lethargy
Old
#4  
Lethargy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,625
Posts: 2,920
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthewle96 View Post
so just to make sure that franco is FULLY comparable with this rom?
Make a backup, flash. If it doesn't boot then it isn't compatible.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyphur
You ask us to understand your position. Well if you want to benefit from our experience and time then I think it is only fair that you understand our position.
I actively add ignorant people to my ignore list.
 
simms22
Old
#5  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 21,430
Posts: 25,784
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BROOKLYN!
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthewle96 View Post
so just to make sure that franco is FULLY comparable with this rom?
make a backup in recovery and just flash the darn kernel. if its not compatible, it wont boot. then you can either flash a known booting kernel or restore the backup you made in recovery. that's the quickest way to find your answer.
Google+ Profile
Twitter Simms22
DerKernel For Trinity kernels and more!
 
matthewle96
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22 View Post
make a backup in recovery and just flash the darn kernel. if its not compatible, it wont boot. then you can either flash a known booting kernel or restore the backup you made in recovery. that's the quickest way to find your answer.
thanks
 
TheLastSidekick
Old
#7  
TheLastSidekick's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,063
Posts: 3,141
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Springfield, Massachusetts

 
DONATE TO ME
Haha this really is a good question though. I myself didn't know either. I had been under the impression it was full AOSP.

Last time I ran Franco kernel on it though all was fine.

Sent from Tapatalk on Nexus 5
Team Inferno (Co-admin)
 
Lethargy
Old
(Last edited by Lethargy; 20th August 2014 at 11:50 PM.)
#8  
Lethargy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,625
Posts: 2,920
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLastSidekick View Post
Haha this really is a good question though. I myself didn't know either. I had been under the impression it was full AOSP.

Last time I ran Franco kernel on it though all was fine.

Sent from Tapatalk on Nexus 5
Quite a few ROMs say AOSP but have CAF parts lol. Rarely are ROMs full CAF though, the only one that I know of is CM of course. Some AOSP kernels work with hybrids and some only do after modification.

An AOSP Dalvik will only boot up on full AOSP ROMs so it the Z2 Dalvik boots, it's full AOSP. If a CAF Dalvik boots, it's either hybrid or full. Nice way to tell
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyphur
You ask us to understand your position. Well if you want to benefit from our experience and time then I think it is only fair that you understand our position.
I actively add ignorant people to my ignore list.
The Following User Says Thank You to Lethargy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
TheLastSidekick
Old
#9  
TheLastSidekick's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,063
Posts: 3,141
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Springfield, Massachusetts

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lethargy View Post
Quite a few ROMs say AOSP but have CAF parts lol. Rarely are ROMs full CAF though, the only one that I know of is CM of course. Some AOSP kernels work with hybrids and some only do after modification.

An AOSP Dalvik will only boot up on full AOSP ROMs so it the Z2 Dalvik boots, it's full AOSP. If a CAF Dalvik boots, it's either hybrid or full. Nice way to tell
Ah thanks. I never really messed with the custom dalvik because I didn't see anything other benchmark gains.

Sent from Tapatalk on Nexus 5
Team Inferno (Co-admin)
 
Lethargy
Old
#10  
Lethargy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,625
Posts: 2,920
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLastSidekick View Post
Ah thanks. I never really messed with the custom dalvik because I didn't see anything other benchmark gains.

Sent from Tapatalk on Nexus 5
Some people say general usage is slightly better, some say it doesn't help in general ui. Experience varies. Lol.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyphur
You ask us to understand your position. Well if you want to benefit from our experience and time then I think it is only fair that you understand our position.
I actively add ignorant people to my ignore list.

The Following User Says Thank You to Lethargy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes