5,595,964 Members 31,935 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Why Does This Phone Wipe Everything When Updating?

Tip us?
 
shaklee3
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 66
Join Date: Oct 2011
Default Why Does This Phone Wipe Everything When Updating?

Hi, I'm coming from a galaxy SII, where everytime I updated a ROM, a factory reset from recovery would leave in tact my pictures, TB backups, and things like downloads. This included the on-device flash and not just the SD card. With the Nexus 5, I applied the OTA updated manually in recovery and it wiped out everything, including all of my pictures, files, and backups. Is there a way to NOT to that and just wipe the OS image?
 
simms22
Old
#2  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 17960
Posts: 22,582
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BROOKLYN!
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaklee3 View Post
Hi, I'm coming from a galaxy SII, where everytime I updated a ROM, a factory reset from recovery would leave in tact my pictures, TB backups, and things like downloads. This included the on-device flash and not just the SD card. With the Nexus 5, I applied the OTA updated manually in recovery and it wiped out everything, including all of my pictures, files, and backups. Is there a way to NOT to that and just wipe the OS image?
it doesnt wipe anything unless you wipe it. i bet you pressed something wrong.
Google+ Profile
Twitter Simms22
DerKernel For Trinity kernels and more!
 
meangreenie
Old
#3  
meangreenie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 559
Posts: 1,974
Join Date: Mar 2012
It shouldn't do. Did you hit the format data option in twrp? it's easy to do.
 
RusherDude
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 98
Posts: 382
Join Date: Aug 2012
Flashing the ota zip via CWM won't wipe anything...
Devices:

 
ogboot
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 149
Join Date: Dec 2009
Nope. Applied my 4.4.1 from custom recovery and didn't lose a thing. Sorry but it's not this phone, sounds like you accidentally chose to wipe.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
greystealth
Old
#6  
greystealth's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 221
Join Date: Jan 2007
Updated mine and all data and settings remained in tact.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium HD app
 
shaklee3
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 66
Join Date: Oct 2011
I didn't choose to wipe. All I did was apply the 4.4 to 4.4.1 OTA update ZIP in TWRP, and everything was gone.
 
RusherDude
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 98
Posts: 382
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaklee3 View Post
I didn't choose to wipe. All I did was apply the 4.4 to 4.4.1 OTA update ZIP in TWRP, and everything was gone.
Then that TWRP version you have is kinda f'ed up..
Devices:


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Fix the Ambient Light Issues on Your Google Nexus 5 using Xposed

The Google Nexus 5 is a great and rather popular device. This LG-produced … more

Google Glass XE16 Update Factory Image and Rooted Bootloader Now Available

You may recall that early yesterday, we talked about the XE16 … more

Add Swipe Utilities to Your App with SimpleFingerGestures Library

Gestures have become an increasingly important element in smartphone UI … more