Backup+ Lets You Backup Your App Data on Android Lollipop

Even though Android 5.0 Lollipop hasn’t yet seen its official release, quite … more

TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more
Post Reply

Phone Won’t Start

OP Slimgym20

25th May 2014, 07:54 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
258 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Hey all,

I am helping my brother out here. I did a quick search and couldn’t find anything. He has a Nexus 5 not rooted. He turned it off for a flight and went to turn it back on after it it won’t turn on. Just sits on the load screen w/the four color circles. He say’s the memory is full - so I was thinking maybe that is it? He say’s it just double vibrates and resets after about 15 seconds.

Any idea how to fix?

Thanks.
25th May 2014, 07:57 PM   |  #2  
vin4yak's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,369
 
4,113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
If it's not booting up, head over to bootloader (Volume down+power) and then access the recovery using the volume buttons to navigate and Power button to select.
From the recovery format cache and then reboot. See if it boots up.. If not, then head over to recovery again and perform a factory reset.
25th May 2014, 08:18 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
258 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vin4yak

If it's not booting up, head over to bootloader (Volume down+power) and then access the recovery using the volume buttons to navigate and Power button to select.
From the recovery format cache and then reboot. See if it boots up.. If not, then head over to recovery again and perform a factory reset.

Phone just freezes up when trying both of those options...Any idea?
25th May 2014, 08:26 PM   |  #4  
vin4yak's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,369
 
4,113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slimgym20

Phone just freezes up when trying both of those options...Any idea?

Switch off the phone by holding the power button. After it switches off completely, hold the Power+Vol down key together until the bootloader shows up..

Does it freeze in the bootloader as well?
25th May 2014, 08:34 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
258 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vin4yak

Switch off the phone by holding the power button. After it switches off completely, hold the Power+Vol down key together until the bootloader shows up..

Does it freeze in the bootloader as well?

I can move around in the boot loader....It just freezes when in recovery mode trying to wipe or factory reset.
25th May 2014, 11:17 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Göd
Thanks Meter: 687
 
1,126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slimgym20

I can move around in the boot loader....It just freezes when in recovery mode trying to wipe or factory reset.

Do you see an android robot with his belly open? If you see that press volume_up key then use volume_down to cycle down to factory reset then select it with power key.

Tapatalk-kal küldve az én Nexus 5-el
25th May 2014, 11:46 PM   |  #7  
1c3_5n0w's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 131
 
471 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Does the recovery state anything about a corrupt cache? Usually wiping data or cache is the way to go and fixes this issue easily. Since you can get into fastboot mode, if all else fails just flash the stock image.

Sent from my XT1032 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
26th May 2014, 12:16 AM   |  #8  
KJ's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag The boonies - southwest Ontario
Thanks Meter: 4,150
 
10,376 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Or erase cache in fastboot.

---------- Post added at 07:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:15 PM ----------

Maybe fastboot erase userdata too. Tho all his stuff will be gone. not internal SD, but apps and data will be.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank