Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,106 Members 40,712 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Higher prioritize app not to be killed over another?

Tip us?
 
RevelationOmega
Old
#1  
RevelationOmega's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 503
Posts: 514
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tallahassee

 
DONATE TO ME
Question [Q] Higher prioritize app not to be killed over another?

I noticed when playing my music w/ Viper FX that the sound quality goes from using the drivers of the app to stock flat (audio quality depreciates) since the app was killed while performing another task (such as opening hangouts or other apps while using phone). I noticed that Android doesn't release the RAM from another app that was being used (ex. ESPN, hangouts, etc) since those apps were more recent while Viper was opened and left. I was wondering if there existed anything to set a higher priority of the Viper FX (or other apps) over some so they won't be killed even if newer used? Thanks for any information.
 
es0tericcha0s
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 490
Posts: 2,537
Join Date: May 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Think this would probably be the easiest way: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...s.MemoryLocker - the developer is very well known for these kinds of mods and RAM management. Adjusting the oom ratio will give the app higher priorities so make it less likely to be killed. I'm sure there are ways to manual doing it via adding a script or something, but time and effort for all that, I dunno if it's worth it unless you really like to tinker and do stuff manually.
Need some help, advice, something fixed? Hit me up on Hangouts @ es0tericcha0s and check out my site: http://mobilemojo5280.com for more info!


HTC Droid Eris / Motorola Droid / Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate / Motorola Droid X / LG G2x / HTC Evo 3D (x2) / Samsung Epic 4G Touch (Sprint S2) / HTC Amaze / Samsung Galaxy S3 (International) / Samsung Galaxy Note 2 / Nexus 4 / HTC One / Samsung Galaxy S4 / Sony Xperia ZL / Nexus 5 / OnePlus One (64 GB)
 
RevelationOmega
Old
#3  
RevelationOmega's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 503
Posts: 514
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tallahassee

 
DONATE TO ME
Thank you, that will probably be easier way with root. Was checking to see if any way to do manually since don't need just for Viper but may have to do it.
 
es0tericcha0s
Old
(Last edited by es0tericcha0s; 30th January 2014 at 05:47 PM.)
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 490
Posts: 2,537
Join Date: May 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Ah, sorry. I was thinking that you had to have root for Viper, so that you were already rooted. Pretty sure there isn't a way to make these kinds of tweaks without root either manually or via an app like Memory Locker. There really isn't a compelling reason NOT to root, in my opinion. It's not complicated (compared to most other phones) and is fairly easy to reverse. If you'd like some help with it, lemme know.
Need some help, advice, something fixed? Hit me up on Hangouts @ es0tericcha0s and check out my site: http://mobilemojo5280.com for more info!


HTC Droid Eris / Motorola Droid / Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate / Motorola Droid X / LG G2x / HTC Evo 3D (x2) / Samsung Epic 4G Touch (Sprint S2) / HTC Amaze / Samsung Galaxy S3 (International) / Samsung Galaxy Note 2 / Nexus 4 / HTC One / Samsung Galaxy S4 / Sony Xperia ZL / Nexus 5 / OnePlus One (64 GB)
 
RevelationOmega
Old
#5  
RevelationOmega's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 503
Posts: 514
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tallahassee

 
DONATE TO ME
I am rooted, sorry. Would it be possible to push the app from user app status to system app (via file explorer/permissions) (such as MusicFX)? Installed normally and it works great but maybe, if by making a system app, it'd be less likely to be killed versus user?

Don't want to use titanium backup push to system, had bad experiences and will not use the app again for some time.
 
rootSU
Old
#6  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10677
Posts: 21,809
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Theres discussion about putting viper in /system/priv-app in one of the two viper thread's in themes and apps (n5).

I still have mine in /data/data.

I've made it resident with the xposed module called "app settings" but I can't confirm anything yet

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
Hammer_Of_The_Gods Old
(Last edited by Hammer_Of_The_Gods; 30th January 2014 at 08:08 PM.)
#7  
Guest
Thanks Meter
Posts: n/a
Hi,

I have not tested and I don't know if it will be useful but there is an Xposed module to keep apps in memory, maybe you can try... This module is not only for this, there is other features.

Here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2437377.
Quote:
- Resident in memory: If set, the system will try much harder to keep the app in memory even when you leave it. It might make the app more responsive when reopening but will also consume more RAM, possibly slowing down the overall system.
EDIT: maybe the app posted by es0tericcha0s is better, lightest and easiest to use...

 
rootSU
Old
#8  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10677
Posts: 21,809
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by viking37 View Post
Hi,

I have not tested and I don't know if it will be useful but there is an Xposed module to keep apps in memory, maybe you can try...

Here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2437377.


I'm testing it as mentioned above

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Hammer_Of_The_Gods Old
#9  
Guest
Thanks Meter
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
I'm testing it as mentioned above
Hi,

My bad, I missed something here

Sorry, misread or read too fast
 
rootSU
Old
#10  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10677
Posts: 21,809
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
No worries dude

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Google Chromecast Rootable Once Again!

Over the six months, theGoogle Chromecasthas gained a considerable amount of official functionality. … more

YAATA isn’t Just Another Android Texting App

Although our mobile devices today are capable of executingnearly every task we normally … more

MacroDroid Update Brings Android Wear Automation

A few months ago, we talked about MacroDroid. For those who don’t remember, MacroDroid … more

Droid X Receives KitKat Port, Upcoming Google Glass Firmware Improvements – XDA Developer TV

Android 4.4.3 lands on the European HTC … more