Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more
Post Reply

Probalby OTA Brick

29th August 2014, 03:12 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Hey,
I've got a rooted Nexus 5 with android 4.4.3 on it.
on the past monthes it sggested me to OTA update but i knew that because of the root I'm not allowed to do it and ignored.
Yesterday, when I took my nexus out of my pocket it was stuck on boot screen (Google with open lock sign).
After some resaerch I realised that it might possible that it was open in my pocket and accidently OTA updta.

Now my situation is:
* Stuck on boot screen
* Can get to recovery but it says that I've encrypted my system.
* When charging - no charging screen
* Tried to manual flash rom/recovery/bootloade/baseband with fastboot and got error (flash write error)
* When opening shell I can clearly distinguish that some mounts are missing (like system...)
* Unable to factory reset / wipe anything.

Please if you got a clue how can I solve it write it down

Updates (For future googlers) :
* Tried to unplug the battery and plug it back but it didn't help...

Thanks alot,
Yaniv.
Last edited by hbhc123; 29th August 2014 at 03:20 PM.
29th August 2014, 05:22 AM   |  #2  
PresidentMcCain's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag United Socialist States of America
Thanks Meter: 80
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
This situation can definitely occur with a bad flash / OTA. Unfortunately, all you can do is go into TWRP and do a full factory reset and wipe everything. Then boot into the bootloader and run flash-all in the factory image.
29th August 2014, 12:48 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
I forgot to mention that I'm unable to factory reset/wipe anything (I get the unable to mount problem)
I think that maybe my mass storage chip has fried
29th August 2014, 01:15 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 169
 
799 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Your emmc is dead... Get a replacement.
29th August 2014, 03:24 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Yes it seems like my emmc is the problem.
anyway, Jtag could be a good solution here?
and if not, someone knows where I could find 32GB emmc chip? I searched in ebay and couldn't find...
29th August 2014, 03:40 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,082
 
2,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbhc123

Yes it seems like my emmc is the problem.
anyway, Jtag could be a good solution here?
and if not, someone knows where I could find 32GB emmc chip? I searched in ebay and couldn't find...

you dont find it.

RMA it or buy a new one.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank