Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Problem in setting up build enviroment

OP yto5

1st July 2014, 09:54 PM   |  #1  
yto5's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Howrah
Thanks Meter: 1
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
I have used this guide to setup my build enviroment on hackintosh http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2510898

but whenever i make a new repo folder by using "mkdir -p ~/.bin"

and following it "curl http://commondatastorage.googleapis....downloads/repo > ~/bin/repo"

i get a error that bin/repo folder is not found please help me i'm a noob i this
1st July 2014, 10:03 PM   |  #2  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,980
 
25,212 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
You've created a directory called ".bin" (hidden) yet you're curling in "bin" which you didn't create in the previous step.

I wouldn't have expected you to create ".bin" in the first step

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd July 2014, 12:00 PM   |  #3  
beekay201's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,143
 
4,760 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yto5

I have used this guide to setup my build enviroment on hackintosh http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2510898

but whenever i make a new repo folder by using "mkdir -p ~/.bin"

and following it "curl http://commondatastorage.googleapis....downloads/repo > ~/bin/repo"

i get a error that bin/repo folder is not found please help me i'm a noob i this

Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

You've created a directory called ".bin" (hidden) yet you're curling in "bin" which you didn't create in the previous step.

I wouldn't have expected you to create ".bin" in the first step

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

In other words, what rootSU is saying is that you need to download (what you are "curling") the 'repo' binary into an existing folder.

This is basic GNU, actually.

On the first command, you're creating ~/.bin, but on the second, repo gets downloaded into ~/bin/, which doesn't exist.
The Following User Says Thank You to beekay201 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd July 2014, 12:07 PM   |  #4  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,980
 
25,212 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by beekay201

In other words, what rootSU is saying is that you need to download (what you are "curling") the 'repo' binary into an existing folder.

This is basic GNU, actually.

On the first command, you're creating ~/.bin, but on the second, repo gets downloaded into ~/bin/, which doesn't exist.

Yep, that's exactly what I'm saying. Thanks.

".bin" is not "bin"
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes