Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,966 Members 41,841 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Process system isn't responding?

Tip us?
 
Anderson2
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 758
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Process system isn't responding?

I'm using a rooted stock 4.4.2 Nexus 5 and messed something up. The phone works fine but when I reboot I get the pop-up attached. Despite this everything works fine.
I know it is something I did by either disabling or freezing some built-in app or preventing it from starting at bootup, but how do I find out which "process system" is the one not responding so I know what to undo?
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1398771529680.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	47.0 KB
ID:	2715392
 
KJ
Old
#2  
KJ's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2911
Posts: 7,149
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The boonies - southwest Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderson2 View Post
I'm using a rooted stock 4.4.2 Nexus 5 and messed something up. The phone works fine but when I reboot I get the pop-up attached. Despite this everything works fine.
I know it is something I did by either disabling or freezing some built-in app or preventing it from starting at bootup, but how do I find out which "process system" is the one not responding so I know what to undo?
Attachment 2715392
Just unfeeze them all. Then freeze them one by one....wait a bit to know all is well, and freeze another.

Or print screen your frozen apps and let's look?

If that's even the cause.
Sent from my N5, N7, Moto X, GTab3 or S2.

Need help with poor battery life on the N5...or any device really? Lots of info in first 4 posts! >>>>
[Battery Life Help] Troubleshoot Battery Issues Here....and Tips

 
Anderson2
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 758
Join Date: Feb 2012
Isn't there a simpler way by using some logging device that would tell what the problem is? I just don't know how to do that.
 
KJ
Old
#4  
KJ's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2911
Posts: 7,149
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The boonies - southwest Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderson2 View Post
Isn't there a simpler way by using some logging device that would tell what the problem is? I just don't know how to do that.
Log cats, if you know how to read them. Not that I really do. But maybe something would be obvious.

You probably froze or stopped something from starting that you shouldn't have tho. Just undo your changes to ones you're not sure of.

I don't see a need to stop most system apps from starting tho....you won't gain anything by it. Aside from Google things, or weather apps. Not sure your motive???
Sent from my N5, N7, Moto X, GTab3 or S2.

Need help with poor battery life on the N5...or any device really? Lots of info in first 4 posts! >>>>
[Battery Life Help] Troubleshoot Battery Issues Here....and Tips

 
Anderson2
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 758
Join Date: Feb 2012
Narrowed it down. It's not anything I froze or disabled. After a lot of testing and trials I discovered that the only thing that prevented the pop-up appearing at bootup was if I disabled xprivacy and because the problem is only recent I suspect it is in the latest update. Will check with them.
 
obadz
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderson2 View Post
Narrowed it down. It's not anything I froze or disabled. After a lot of testing and trials I discovered that the only thing that prevented the pop-up appearing at bootup was if I disabled xprivacy and because the problem is only recent I suspect it is in the latest update. Will check with them.
I have the same problem and I also use xprivacy.
 
Anderson2
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 758
Join Date: Feb 2012
It was some permission I had blocked in some app. I can't tell you which app or which permission because I finally "cleared all xprivacy data" in xprivacy menu and reblocked permissions as I was asked in each app. Sort of like starting from scratch but it was worth it because it solved the problem.

Hope that helps.

If you find which permission it is let me know.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Slide Dial Replacement Dialer Lets You Make Calls from Anywhere

If you frequently make phone calls, your dialer (aka phone app)is one of the … more

Navigate with Your Samsung Gear 2 Using DMA Navi Watch

Whether you’re travelling to a new destination or exploring some previously … more

Xperia Z1 Stereo Speaker Mod, Cell Phone Unlocking Legal Again! – XDA Developer TV

Cell Phone Unlocking is legal again!! That and much … more