The Androids Are Marching On The UK

XDA has always been about the community, and as such we are constantly on the lookout for ways to bring … more

One M8 Lollipop, Blackberry CEO Net Neutrality – XDA TV

The HTC One M8 has gotten its first Android 5.0 Lollipop based Sense 6 ROM! … more

Elemental – The Cross Platform Code Editor StartUp

There is not many cross-platform code editors capable to run both on desktop and … more

Dropbox App Available on Windows Phone

The Dropbox app is well known and widely used. The application has finally landed on Windows Phone … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Process system isn't responding

OP Anderson2

17th June 2014, 01:40 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
833 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Nexus 5 stock 4.4.2 ROM.

What would cause this on rebooting? After the popup error booting continues and the phone seems to work correctly.

I deleted both cache and dalvik cache but that didn't help.

What is Process system?

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1403004646703.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	59.7 KB
ID:	2803248  
17th June 2014, 02:03 PM   |  #2  
xnormskix's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Semarang
Thanks Meter: 327
 
453 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Donate to Me
More
Maybe you need to factory reset your device. Or if you rooted clean flash your rom.
17th June 2014, 02:22 PM   |  #3  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,455
 
4,237 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Probably some of the system files got messed up? If it's bugging you, Flash the stock system, boot images and re-root.. Apps and it's settings can be backed up and restored via Titanium Backup.
17th June 2014, 05:15 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
833 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Seems pretty radical. I was hoping for something less radical.

If I reset won't I lose all my system settings, accounts, and who knows what? I don't think tibu can restore those, can it?

If I accept the ota update to 4.4.3 (despite the problems about the radio, etc) would that overwrite all the system files?

I have nandroid back-ups and TWRP if that is helpful.

I am now having problems with widgets not working, Tapatalk not refreshing, etc.
17th June 2014, 05:40 PM   |  #5  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,455
 
4,237 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderson2

Seems pretty radical. I was hoping for something less radical.

If I reset won't I lose all my system settings, accounts, and who knows what? I don't think tibu can restore those, can it?

If I accept the ota update to 4.4.3 (despite the problems about the radio, etc) would that overwrite all the system files?

I have nandroid back-ups and TWRP if that is helpful.

I am now having problems with widgets not working, Tapatalk not refreshing, etc.

It takes about 10-15 mins to setup your google, other accounts and system settings.

No, OTA update won't delete anything. But if you have changed any 4.4.2 system files you shouldn't install the OTA as it would break and abort installation.

If you have the nandroid backup of your complete stock rom, you could restore it and then proceed with the OTA. Kindly refer to the OTA helpdesk in the General forum which will clear all your doubts.
17th June 2014, 06:36 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
833 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Thank you again.

I took the plunge, uninstalled xposed, and accepted the ota. It updated with no problems - but I lost root. So I will spend the 10 minutes rerooting instead.

On the good side, after the update, the error no longer appears and the widgets work again.
17th June 2014, 07:04 PM   |  #7  
vin4yak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,455
 
4,237 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderson2

Thank you again.

I took the plunge, uninstalled xposed, and accepted the ota. It updated with no problems - but I lost root. So I will spend the 10 minutes rerooting instead.

On the good side, after the update, the error no longer appears and the widgets work again.

That's great! Good to hear.
17th June 2014, 09:15 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
833 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Thanks. I wanted to post my solution so others might benefit.

While searching for a solution I discovered that several others have faced this problem. So it is not that rare.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes