FORUMS

Mysterious GG1 Google Device Stops by FCC. Glass v2?

As the year progresses, we draw further away from Google’s annual I/O … more

Material and Material Dark Hit Samsung’s Theme Store

The latest version of Touchwiz, launched alongside the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge, … more

Swappa’s New App Helps You Value Your Device

There comes a sad time in everyone’s life where you must part ways with your … more

Xiaomi Sold 34.7 Million Phones In 6 Months

2015 has been a phenomenal year for Xiaomi so far. With a stellar rise in 2014, 2015 saw … more

Q: Expanded Desktop/Keyboard Issue

28 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By Javeline4, Junior Member on 20th January 2014, 04:21 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
So far, everything about the Nexus 5 is fantastic. One minor issue I am running across is related to the popup keyboard. For starters, I am using the GravityBox Pie Controls (always enabled feature). They are great, but the constant softkeys popping up when using any keyboard makes it quite annoying.

I looked on Xposed Framework and did not see any module that rectifies this minor annoyance.
Does anyone know of a way to disable the softkeys completely when using any android keyboard?
 
 
24th January 2014, 04:15 PM |#2  
Javeline4's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag DFW, TX
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Bump as I have yet to find a solution to this problem.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
24th January 2014, 04:51 PM |#3  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicagoland
Thanks Meter: 2,670
 
More
I use gravitybox for expanded desktop + pie and have never had the softkeys pop up when using the keyboard, on either of my phones. Are you using actual expanded desktop or immersive mode with gravitybox?

Sent from my Moto X
26th January 2014, 07:39 PM |#4  
Javeline4's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag DFW, TX
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Expanded desktop. I believe it is set to hide navigation bars. I'll try playing with the settings.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
1st February 2014, 07:59 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by _MetalHead_

I use gravitybox for expanded desktop + pie and have never had the softkeys pop up when using the keyboard, on either of my phones. Are you using actual expanded desktop or immersive mode with gravitybox?

Sent from my Moto X

Are you stock on your Moto X?

I suffer this same annoyance (as the OP) with Immerse Me module. The newest Gravity Box mod was to fix this but it breaks Desktoo Mode. Only "hide nav bar" and sem-immersive" mode work. Semi-immersive acts just like hide nav bar as you can't swipe to restore the nav bar.

I just use immerse me for now and deal with the keyboard and volume bug. Running stock root Moto X Dev VZW.
1st February 2014, 08:08 PM |#6  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicagoland
Thanks Meter: 2,670
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bunklung

Are you stock on your Moto X?

I suffer this same annoyance (as the OP) with Immerse Me module. The newest Gravity Box mod was to fix this but it breaks Desktoo Mode. Only "hide nav bar" and sem-immersive" mode work. Semi-immersive acts just like hide nav bar as you can't swipe to restore the nav bar.

I just use immerse me for now and deal with the keyboard and volume bug. Running stock root Moto X Dev VZW.

Yeah, stock rooted. Have you tried the App Settings module? It allows you to set immersive mode on a per app basis. Not sure if it will solve your problem but it's worth a shot.
1st February 2014, 08:37 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by _MetalHead_

Yeah, stock rooted. Have you tried the App Settings module? It allows you to set immersive mode on a per app basis. Not sure if it will solve your problem but it's worth a shot.

I will try it.

What version of Xposed and GravityBox are you using?

I am using 2.4.1 (xposed) 2.9.4 (GB)

*update* Just tried App Settings and it still suffers from same keyboard and volume issues.
Last edited by bunklung; 1st February 2014 at 09:10 PM.
1st February 2014, 09:54 PM |#8  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicagoland
Thanks Meter: 2,670
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bunklung

I will try it.

What version of Xposed and GravityBox are you using?

I am using 2.4.1 (xposed) 2.9.4 (GB)

*update* Just tried App Settings and it still suffers from same keyboard and volume issues.

My X is on 2.2 for Xposed and 2.6.3 for GB. I'm still on Jelly Bean on my Moto X.

My N5 is on 2.4.1 for Xposed and 2.8.6 for GB.

What volume issues are you talking about?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes