Post Reply

(Q) Stuck at google logo, won't power off

8th February 2014, 12:04 AM   |  #1  
ViciousMo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 111
 
405 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
I was flashing a new ROM and I got stuck at the google logo upon bootup. I tried holding power button to power it off. It does, then turns right back on.
8th February 2014, 12:10 AM   |  #2  
GUGUITOMTG4's Avatar
Senior Member
GuGuPlace
Thanks Meter: 202
 
531 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ViciousMo

I was flashing a new ROM and I got stuck at the google logo upon bootup. I tried holding power button to power it off. It does, then turns right back on.

press both power + volume down until it boots on bootloader. then choose recovery, press power and do necessary steps to flash a new rom
The Following User Says Thank You to GUGUITOMTG4 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th February 2014, 12:11 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
You need to restore your cwm or twrp backup in this case...
You phone's not restarting properly coz the custom myt have been missing a file or you might have forgotten to clear the data,caches and delvik cache before installing the custom rom zip file...

As of now...i recommend you restore your backup first

Sent from my GT-S7562 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to singhshantanu1996 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th February 2014, 12:13 AM   |  #4  
ViciousMo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 111
 
405 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GUGUITOMTG4

press both power + volume down until it boots on bootloader. then choose recovery, press power and do necessary steps to flash a new rom

Well, when I do this. the phone turns off. Then, it turns back at to the google logo.
Quote:
Originally Posted by singhshantanu1996

You need to restore your cwm or twrp backup in this case...
You phone's not restarting properly coz the custom myt have been missing a file or you might have forgotten to clear the data,caches and delvik cache before installing the custom rom zip file...

As of now...i recommend you restore your backup first

Sent from my GT-S7562 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app


In TWRP, I wiped everything but internal storage. I thought it was a norm coming from a S4 but I don't think I should have done that now. I have the factory image downloaded. Just trying to get into fastboot mode.
8th February 2014, 12:15 AM   |  #5  
ViciousMo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 111
 
405 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
I got into fastboot mode. the mistake I was making was that I was stop holding the buttons once the phone powered off.
8th February 2014, 12:24 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Yeah...this boot stuck thing happend to me too...during custom rom installation...

Sent from my GT-S7562 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
8th February 2014, 12:27 AM   |  #7  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,386
 
9,919 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by singhshantanu1996

Yeah...this boot stuck thing happend to me too...during custom rom installation...

Sent from my GT-S7562 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

User error
8th February 2014, 01:17 AM   |  #8  
GUGUITOMTG4's Avatar
Senior Member
GuGuPlace
Thanks Meter: 202
 
531 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
.my error
Last edited by GUGUITOMTG4; 8th February 2014 at 03:36 AM.
8th February 2014, 02:54 AM   |  #9  
Ryanrioz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 39
 
290 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Try to redownload the roms from Google Developers

And Re-Flash it via fastboot n see

(PS:Not sure ADB not running or just bad rom)

Send My Signature phone to XDA with my Bad grammars..
8th February 2014, 05:44 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Colorado Springs
Thanks Meter: 153
 
406 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ViciousMo

I was flashing a new ROM and I got stuck at the google logo upon bootup. I tried holding power button to power it off. It does, then turns right back on.

If you long press the power button to force a reboot as soon as the screen goes off hold down the volume down button and it will put you into the bootloader screen, Getting to recovery from there is a piece of cake. Holding the volume down button at the beginning of a reboot (when screen is off) to get to the bootloader and/or recovery screen has worked on every device I've tried it on. Just one more way.
Last edited by wantabe; 8th February 2014 at 05:53 AM.

The Following User Says Thank You to wantabe For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank