FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Forums: Discuss Everything About The OP2!

Now that the OnePlus 2 has been officially unveiled and that we have had close-up … more

Intel & Micron Announce “Revolutionary” Storage Tech

Intel & Micron have announced 3D Xpoint technology—”the … more

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

Make Your Lockscreen More Productive With Widgets

Are you running Android Lollipop? Do you miss the ability to add widgets to your lock … more

Question

899 posts
Thanks Meter: 61
 
By ericerk, Senior Member on 23rd August 2014, 12:11 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
23rd August 2014, 04:30 AM |#11  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 24,991
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJ

K ... Here's what I THINK I know... Lol

With data off completely.... Calls and texts still work. A great way to save battery destruction in poor reception areas as well.

If LTE is on, and you make a call... Phone automatically switches to GSM, or 4 or 3g. I think that's what I've read.

If the above is true, then you're saying forcing LTE won't allow it to drop out of LTE to make calls. That makes sense.... I think. The trouble I'm having is understanding this..... If you can make calls and texts with data completely disabled.... I guess I'm not getting how being on LTE only can affect calls. Or is kind of like LTE is taking over the radio completely.... So calls and texts don't work. So on auto, LTE shuts itself down to allow you make calls. And of course with data disabled LTE is obviously off, so yes you can make calls and texts.

But with LTE forced on.... It basically hijacks the radio, not allowing voice and I assume Sms.

Have I finally got it? Lol I needs to learn. 😉

before we didnt have the ability to make calls on lte, but now we can, with newer radios, and networks that let us get calls on lte. but the n5 tech is one generation, maybe half a generation, before. now they have both, capabilities and network. but not many, of both. the hsps+/3G tech is much older, and more developed
 
 
23rd August 2014, 04:39 AM |#12  
Darth's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag The Old Republic
Thanks Meter: 8,033
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simms22

before we didnt have the ability to make calls on lte, but now we can, with newer radios, and networks that let us get calls on lte. but the n5 tech is one generation, maybe half a generation, before. now they have both, capabilities and network. but not many, of both. the hsps+/3G tech is much older, and more developed

You're just trying to confuse me! Lol 💩

As far as the n5 goes... LTE hijacks the radio. So if it's forced on full time ... Calls won't work. So that's a bad thing to do. Best left on auto. Lol 👍

Thanks my friend.

---------- Post added at 11:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:38 PM ----------

But there's your answer OP . 🍻
The Following User Says Thank You to Darth For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd August 2014, 04:47 AM |#13  
ericerk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJ

You're just trying to confuse me! Lol ��

As far as the n5 goes... LTE hijacks the radio. So if it's forced on full time ... Calls won't work. So that's a bad thing to do. Best left on auto. Lol ��

Thanks my friend.

---------- Post added at 11:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:38 PM ----------

But there's your answer OP . ��

I'm down for auto, how do I keep it at auto, It loves to re designate itself, at random.

This was the reason I dumped my HTC M8 (vzw) for the nexus 5 to make sure I had both.
23rd August 2014, 04:50 AM |#14  
Darth's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag The Old Republic
Thanks Meter: 8,033
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericerk

I'm down for auto, how do I keep it at auto, It loves to re designate itself, at random.

I can't check exactly for you, I no longer have my N5. But it's in mobile network settings. It should be anyway. I don't recall the options tho.

---------- Post added at 11:50 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:49 PM ----------

Or if you mean it doesn't keep on what you set it too.... That's an issue of some sort.
23rd August 2014, 04:52 AM |#15  
ericerk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJ

I can't check exactly for you, I no longer have my N5. But it's in mobile network settings. It should be anyway. I don't recall the options tho.

---------- Post added at 11:50 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:49 PM ----------

Or if you mean it doesn't keep on what you set it too.... That's an issue of some sort.

I just got it yesterday from google, it's a refurb, It shouldn't really have issues, not this soon.

Also, I'm on CM, if that helps, I doubt it, but It could be a build error.
23rd August 2014, 04:55 AM |#16  
Darth's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag The Old Republic
Thanks Meter: 8,033
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericerk

I just got it yesterday from google, it's a refurb, It shouldn't really have issues, not this soon.

Also, I'm on CM, if that helps, I doubt it, but It could be a build error.

Well, in the mobile settings somewhere.... It should have an option for auto that includes LTE.

Just try different ones till you can call out.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes