Sony Xperia Z3 Lollipop Framework Ported to CM12

Android 5.0 for Xperia has a unique look and feel. You don’t have to get a Sony … more

Do You Use Recents as a Task Switcher?

Google introduced a revamped Recents interface with Lollipop in the hopes of making it easier for … more

YU Yureka All-in-One ToolBox (CM12S Only)

This packed toolbox by XDA Senior Member gohel.vishal makes many useful tweaks … more

Sony Xperia Z4 Forum Now Available

Sony’s Xperia line has seen plenty of development on XDA, and now that the Xperia Z4 has been … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Radio is dumb despite full HSPA signal

15th February 2014, 07:08 AM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 334
 
1,305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
I'm sitting at home nice good HSPA+ Signal then all of a sudden it just drops the EDGE
my other phone (iPhone is still on HSPA+ no issues) great so I toggle airplane mode on and off boom still edge, so I reboot and boom STILL EDGE
After a while it reconnect to HSPA+ or until it picks up LTE

Does this happen to you? It seems the radio got even crappier with 4.4.2

Im fully stock 100% I have 2 Nexus 5 units in hand one is from T-Mobile one is from play store both experience the same problem
 
 
15th February 2014, 07:16 AM |#2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 935
 
3,159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdapimp

I'm sitting at home nice good HSPA+ Signal then all of a sudden it just drops the EDGE
my other phone (iPhone is still on HSPA+ no issues) great so I toggle airplane mode on and off boom still edge, so I reboot and boom STILL EDGE
After a while it reconnect to HSPA+ or until it picks up LTE

Does this happen to you? It seems the radio got even crappier with 4.4.2

Im fully stock 100% I have 2 Nexus 5 units in hand one is from T-Mobile one is from play store both experience the same problem

My N5 has never been on EDGE once. It sometimes looses signal altogether which is a different problem and really needs to be fixed, but mine never goes on EDGE when there is a H+ connection.
15th February 2014, 07:18 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 334
 
1,305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

My N5 has never been on EDGE once. It sometimes looses signal altogether which is a different problem and really needs to be fixed, but mine never goes on EDGE when there is a H+ connection.

Should I RMA both units?
15th February 2014, 07:21 AM |#4  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 935
 
3,159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdapimp

Should I RMA both units?

I don't know...what's better to you? Loosing all connection or just going to EDGE? I've had 3 N5's (I kept my original one because they all had the same issue) because it kept dropping signal quite a bit. My "no signal" bar in the battery settings, was consistently above 25% when I know perfectly well there's 5 bars.

I've tried a new sim card as well...I just don't think this phone has a great radio.
15th February 2014, 07:30 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 334
 
1,305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

I don't know...what's better to you? Loosing all connection or just going to EDGE? I've had 3 N5's (I kept my original one because they all had the same issue) because it kept dropping signal quite a bit. My "no signal" bar in the battery settings, was consistently above 25% when I know perfectly well there's 5 bars.

I've tried a new sim card as well...I just don't think this phone has a great radio.

Was the radio better for you on 4.4?
15th February 2014, 07:45 AM |#6  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 935
 
3,159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdapimp

Was the radio better for you on 4.4?

Somewhat but not really. I flashed that radio on top of 4.4.2 and didn't see too much of a difference and obviously didn't want to go back to 4.4 (camera) so I just flashed back the 4.4.2 radio and am living with it.

---------- Post added at 11:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:36 PM ----------

I don't really care too much though...I'll just use my JUMP upgrade and get the HTC 2 (??) when it comes out, then the Nexus 5(2?) or the iPhone 6 later.
15th February 2014, 07:55 AM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 334
 
1,305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

Somewhat but not really. I flashed that radio on top of 4.4.2 and didn't see too much of a difference and obviously didn't want to go back to 4.4 (camera) so I just flashed back the 4.4.2 radio and am living with it.

---------- Post added at 11:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:36 PM ----------

I don't really care too much though...I'll just use my JUMP upgrade and get the HTC 2 (??) when it comes out, then the Nexus 5(2?) or the iPhone 6 later.

I called Google Play and they want me to Factory reset it and if it still persists they will send me a new device. And if it still has issues im selling this PoS Device with a poor radio never again will i purchase a device from LG
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank