FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[Q] Ram usage.

298 posts
Thanks Meter: 31
 
By Sonone, Senior Member on 13th February 2014, 05:47 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I am currently running stock with franco kernel 32...

i always see that my ram consumption is always very high about 1 gb...

i have auto sync off and by using gravity box module i often clear all the apps but still i get this high ram usage.. the apps i use are mostly paid version and dont have adds. I use greenify as well but still usage is high..

in my cached processes google search and aosp keyboard consume around 100 mb of memory

will this affect my battery life.?

pls can someone help?
 
 
13th February 2014, 05:52 PM |#2  
jd1639's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,910
 
Donate to Me
More
Don't worry. Android uses as much ram as it can. Unless you're seeing performance issues if just leave it alone.
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Hammer_Of_The_Gods
13th February 2014, 05:52 PM |#3  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi,

Nothing abnormal to have about 1Gb used (there was a thing about RAM usage in the last version if I remember right, but not with R32 so...).

Maybe not necessary to clear often the recent apps (nor useful).

Nothing to worry about your battery life.

You apps stays in memory for faster use, let Android manage its ram, with 2Gb (a bit less for user/app) it's enough...

Last edited by Hammer_Of_The_Gods; 13th February 2014 at 05:54 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2014, 05:54 PM |#4  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 19,128
 
More
Ram is supposed to be used. The old adage "free ram is useless ram" applies here.

The ram device itself will use power as all components will however, it is "always on" it doesn't matter if its 1MB or 1GB.... it's same power regardless.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to danarama For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2014, 06:05 PM |#5  
Sonone's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Pune
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
@JJD1639 thanks for the assurance man.. i thought it may cause battery drain.

@viking37 thanks,so u mean its better to leave them as they are. no need of hibernating them?

@rootSU thanks u! ya i had heard that in linux as opposed to conventional windows belief its rather that free ram is wasted ram.. so even if i start a game a high requirement one the OS will do the job itself?
13th February 2014, 06:14 PM |#6  
danarama's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 19,128
 
More
Yeo

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to danarama For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Hammer_Of_The_Gods
13th February 2014, 06:58 PM |#7  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonone

@viking37 thanks,so u mean its better to leave them as they are. no need of hibernating them?

Re,

No, what I mean is let your apps currently running like they are, in the recent apps. If a day you are really very low in memory for whatever reason (like 200-300Mb free for example) and you experience lags, reboot ant it's fine. But Android will do the necessary before (unless a "huge memory leak" like we have seen or some wrong memory management settings caused by a "RAM manager app" or some "magic RAM script").

My opinion was not about Greenify in particular, I have no opinion about it... If you need or want to hibernate them, do it, for the other apps, leave them running

Not sure if I explain myself well

If you want post some screenshots of your apps running and cache process to see, but with what you said it seems that there is nothing wrong...

Last edited by Hammer_Of_The_Gods; 13th February 2014 at 07:13 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2014, 07:30 PM |#8  
Sonone's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Pune
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by viking37

Re,

No, what I mean is let your apps currently running like they are, in the recent apps. If a day you are really very low in memory for whatever reason (like 200-300Mb free for example) and you experience lags, reboot ant it's fine. But Android will do the necessary before (unless a "huge memory leak" like we have seen or some wrong memory management settings caused by a "RAM manager app" or some "magic RAM script").

My opinion was not about Greenify in particular, I have no opinion about it... If you need or want to hibernate them, do it, for the other apps, leave them running

Not sure if I explain myself well

If you want post some screenshots of your apps running and cache process to see, but with what you said it seems that there is nothing wrong...

ya there is nothing wrong... its just that I am probably being a bit too curious for no reason...
i shall leave it to the OS memory management..I just checked there's no rogue app consuming memory.. the ones which are running seem quite justified!

and please dude,i got you (explained well)and i really appreciate the support and help from all of you.. i post a thing and within a minute there are people to help..
The Following User Says Thank You to Sonone For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Hammer_Of_The_Gods
13th February 2014, 07:31 PM |#9  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonone

and please dude,i got you (explained well)and i really appreciate the support and help from all of you.. i post a thing and within a minute there are people to help..

Yes, all seems good

Curiosity is good and you're welcome

13th February 2014, 08:55 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonone

@JJD1639 thanks for the assurance man.. i thought it may cause battery drain.

@viking37 thanks,so u mean its better to leave them as they are. no need of hibernating them?

@rootSU thanks u! ya i had heard that in linux as opposed to conventional windows belief its rather that free ram is wasted ram.. so even if i start a game a high requirement one the OS will do the job itself?

ps. this applies to pretty much all desktop OS's as well as mobile in the past 10 years or so.. linux, windows, osx etc.. 90% ram usage or more should be normal unless you have an insane amount of ram in the system.
The Following User Says Thank You to Ashcunak For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2014, 11:30 PM |#11  
jd1639's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,910
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexusprouser

my ram booster keeps clearing my ram because it uses up to 1.6

any process I can shut down from default to stop it from clearing?

Get rid of ram booster. You don't need it and it's causing more problems than it's fixing.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes