5,605,120 Members 37,473 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Ram usage.

Tip us?
 
Sonone
Old
#1  
Sonone's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 240
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pune
Default [Q] Ram usage.

I am currently running stock with franco kernel 32...

i always see that my ram consumption is always very high about 1 gb...

i have auto sync off and by using gravity box module i often clear all the apps but still i get this high ram usage.. the apps i use are mostly paid version and dont have adds. I use greenify as well but still usage is high..

in my cached processes google search and aosp keyboard consume around 100 mb of memory

will this affect my battery life.?

pls can someone help?
Phone: Nexus 5
Android Version: 4.4.2

Phone: One Xl
HTC Sense: 5 4.2.2
 
jd1639
Old
#2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2273
Posts: 7,459
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Don't worry. Android uses as much ram as it can. Unless you're seeing performance issues if just leave it alone.
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Hammer_Of_The_Gods
Old
(Last edited by Hammer_Of_The_Gods; 13th February 2014 at 05:54 PM.)
#3  
Hammer_Of_The_Gods's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4495
Posts: 4,418
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: TOURS
Hi,

Nothing abnormal to have about 1Gb used (there was a thing about RAM usage in the last version if I remember right, but not with R32 so...).

Maybe not necessary to clear often the recent apps (nor useful).

Nothing to worry about your battery life.

You apps stays in memory for faster use, let Android manage its ram, with 2Gb (a bit less for user/app) it's enough...


 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red5 View Post
The OP is the best place to keep a secret because nobody reads it.
The Following User Says Thank You to Hammer_Of_The_Gods For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rootSU
Old
#4  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7511
Posts: 18,124
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Ram is supposed to be used. The old adage "free ram is useless ram" applies here.

The ram device itself will use power as all components will however, it is "always on" it doesn't matter if its 1MB or 1GB.... it's same power regardless.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Always read the OP's of a thread and the last 2 pages before asking questions, unless there has been an update - in which case, read the last 5 pages!

nexus 5 | SlimKat | ElementalX kernel | Philz Touch Recovery

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Sonone
Old
#5  
Sonone's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 240
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pune
@JJD1639 thanks for the assurance man.. i thought it may cause battery drain.

@viking37 thanks,so u mean its better to leave them as they are. no need of hibernating them?

@rootSU thanks u! ya i had heard that in linux as opposed to conventional windows belief its rather that free ram is wasted ram.. so even if i start a game a high requirement one the OS will do the job itself?
Phone: Nexus 5
Android Version: 4.4.2

Phone: One Xl
HTC Sense: 5 4.2.2
 
rootSU
Old
#6  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7511
Posts: 18,124
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Yeo

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Always read the OP's of a thread and the last 2 pages before asking questions, unless there has been an update - in which case, read the last 5 pages!

nexus 5 | SlimKat | ElementalX kernel | Philz Touch Recovery

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Hammer_Of_The_Gods
Old
(Last edited by Hammer_Of_The_Gods; 13th February 2014 at 07:13 PM.)
#7  
Hammer_Of_The_Gods's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4495
Posts: 4,418
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: TOURS
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonone View Post
@viking37 thanks,so u mean its better to leave them as they are. no need of hibernating them?
Re,

No, what I mean is let your apps currently running like they are, in the recent apps. If a day you are really very low in memory for whatever reason (like 200-300Mb free for example) and you experience lags, reboot ant it's fine. But Android will do the necessary before (unless a "huge memory leak" like we have seen or some wrong memory management settings caused by a "RAM manager app" or some "magic RAM script").

My opinion was not about Greenify in particular, I have no opinion about it... If you need or want to hibernate them, do it, for the other apps, leave them running

Not sure if I explain myself well

If you want post some screenshots of your apps running and cache process to see, but with what you said it seems that there is nothing wrong...


 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red5 View Post
The OP is the best place to keep a secret because nobody reads it.
The Following User Says Thank You to Hammer_Of_The_Gods For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Sonone
Old
#8  
Sonone's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 240
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pune
Quote:
Originally Posted by viking37 View Post
Re,

No, what I mean is let your apps currently running like they are, in the recent apps. If a day you are really very low in memory for whatever reason (like 200-300Mb free for example) and you experience lags, reboot ant it's fine. But Android will do the necessary before (unless a "huge memory leak" like we have seen or some wrong memory management settings caused by a "RAM manager app" or some "magic RAM script").

My opinion was not about Greenify in particular, I have no opinion about it... If you need or want to hibernate them, do it, for the other apps, leave them running

Not sure if I explain myself well

If you want post some screenshots of your apps running and cache process to see, but with what you said it seems that there is nothing wrong...

ya there is nothing wrong... its just that I am probably being a bit too curious for no reason...
i shall leave it to the OS memory management..I just checked there's no rogue app consuming memory.. the ones which are running seem quite justified!

and please dude,i got you (explained well)and i really appreciate the support and help from all of you.. i post a thing and within a minute there are people to help..
Phone: Nexus 5
Android Version: 4.4.2

Phone: One Xl
HTC Sense: 5 4.2.2
The Following User Says Thank You to Sonone For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Hammer_Of_The_Gods
Old
#9  
Hammer_Of_The_Gods's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4495
Posts: 4,418
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: TOURS
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonone View Post
and please dude,i got you (explained well)and i really appreciate the support and help from all of you.. i post a thing and within a minute there are people to help..
Yes, all seems good

Curiosity is good and you're welcome


 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red5 View Post
The OP is the best place to keep a secret because nobody reads it.
 
Ashcunak
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 270
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonone View Post
@JJD1639 thanks for the assurance man.. i thought it may cause battery drain.

@viking37 thanks,so u mean its better to leave them as they are. no need of hibernating them?

@rootSU thanks u! ya i had heard that in linux as opposed to conventional windows belief its rather that free ram is wasted ram.. so even if i start a game a high requirement one the OS will do the job itself?
ps. this applies to pretty much all desktop OS's as well as mobile in the past 10 years or so.. linux, windows, osx etc.. 90% ram usage or more should be normal unless you have an insane amount of ram in the system.

The Following User Says Thank You to Ashcunak For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes