5,599,677 Members 44,931 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Reliably set up Phablet UI by changing SystemUI dpi

Tip us?
 
the7thson
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 452
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Calculator Reliably set up Phablet UI by changing SystemUI dpi

Hey guys,

I'm using an LCD density of 360 on my Nexus 5 by ending the build.prop, this feels comfortable for my use and I'd like to keep it that way. BUT I sorely miss not having phablet ui. Is there a setting I need to be using to change my SystemUI to a particular dpi to switch everything to Phablet UI while still keeping the overall LCD density to 360? I'm using the "App Settings" module in Xposed and have tried just about everything but can't get the Phablet UI to engage. Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Thanks.
 
ranasrule
Old
#2  
ranasrule's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 1,195
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lahore
Quote:
Originally Posted by the7thson View Post
Hey guys,

I'm using an LCD density of 360 on my Nexus 5 by ending the build.prop, this feels comfortable for my use and I'd like to keep it that way. BUT I sorely miss not having phablet ui. Is there a setting I need to be using to change my SystemUI to a particular dpi to switch everything to Phablet UI while still keeping the overall LCD density to 360? I'm using the "App Settings" module in Xposed and have tried just about everything but can't get the Phablet UI to engage. Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Thanks.
i want to do this too...anyone willing to help ?
 
rootSU
Old
#3  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7438
Posts: 17,995
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranasrule View Post
i want to do this too...anyone willing to help ?

There are 2 things we need to discuss.

1) System UI layout change to Tablet mode or Phablet mode UI. This changes the layout of the Nav Bar, Status bar and Notification area. Google removed this function. There is no way to get it back.

2) Triggered Tablet layout of specific apps. Developers of apps may wish to change the layout of their apps for a tablet. More screen real estate can mean there are better layouts than used for the phone. The only reliable trigger that a developer can use is dpi.

The bigger screen at the same resolution will have a lower dpi than a smaller screen at the same resolution. We can trigger tablet layout in apps by forcing the dpi down system wide using the build.prop. However, different developers will be triggered by different dpi's meaning you may need a dpi so low you cant see it on your small screen before some apps trigger.

You can use the Xposed module named "app settings" to actually change the layout of individual apps to tablet layout. So for example, you can set Chrome to be tablet layout without changing the dpi of the system or tha app itself. That's the only option though. Not all apps have a tablet mode.
Always read the OP's of a thread and the last 2 pages before asking questions, unless there has been an update - in which case, read the last 5 pages!

nexus 5 | SlimKat | ElementalX kernel | Philz Touch Recovery

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
ranasrule
Old
#4  
ranasrule's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 1,195
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lahore
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
There are 2 things we need to discuss.

1) System UI layout change to Tablet mode or Phablet mode UI. This changes the layout of the Nav Bar, Status bar and Notification area. Google removed this function. There is no way to get it back.

2) Triggered Tablet layout of specific apps. Developers of apps may wish to change the layout of their apps for a tablet. More screen real estate can mean there are better layouts than used for the phone. The only reliable trigger that a developer can use is dpi.

The bigger screen at the same resolution will have a lower dpi than a smaller screen at the same resolution. We can trigger tablet layout in apps by forcing the dpi down system wide using the build.prop. However, different developers will be triggered by different dpi's meaning you may need a dpi so low you cant see it on your small screen before some apps trigger.

You can use the Xposed module named "app settings" to actually change the layout of individual apps to tablet layout. So for example, you can set Chrome to be tablet layout without changing the dpi of the system or tha app itself. That's the only option though. Not all apps have a tablet mode.
Thanks for the reply but the request is for Phablet UI...kind of something like this atleast >>> http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=750

as far as my Info goes tablet UI is not longer available but Phablet is possible
 
rootSU
Old
#5  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7438
Posts: 17,995
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranasrule View Post
Thanks for the reply but the request is for Phablet UI...kind of something like this atleast >>> http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=750
For phablet ui, read point 1.

That screenshot is not phablet ui. Its just a lower dpi.

To lower dpi, either do it system wide using build prop or with xposed module "app settings", set dpi for systemui lower. Say maybe 300.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Always read the OP's of a thread and the last 2 pages before asking questions, unless there has been an update - in which case, read the last 5 pages!

nexus 5 | SlimKat | ElementalX kernel | Philz Touch Recovery

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
the7thson
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 452
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
For phablet ui, read point 1.

That screenshot is not phablet ui. Its just a lower dpi.

To lower dpi, either do it system wide using build prop or with xposed module "app settings", set dpi for systemui lower. Say maybe 300.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

I thought Google only removed TableUI, but PhabletUI still exists. I could be wrong though.
 
rootSU
Old
#7  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7438
Posts: 17,995
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by the7thson View Post
I thought Google only removed TableUI, but PhabletUI still exists. I could be wrong though.
Maybe I don't know. My understanding was there was 1 UI now. Maybe you need to ask someone in PA team

IF it does exist, there's no way to get it... Unless PA can do it.
Always read the OP's of a thread and the last 2 pages before asking questions, unless there has been an update - in which case, read the last 5 pages!

nexus 5 | SlimKat | ElementalX kernel | Philz Touch Recovery

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...