XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more

Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more

Unlock Hidden Camera Settings on Your Moto G

At one point in time or another, weve all gotten very fiddly with the camera settings on our … more
Post Reply

Removing Content Upon Flashing a ROM

23rd June 2014, 01:29 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Hi there, how are y'all doing?
Well.. I was looking into installing a ROM on my Nexus 5, and I just wondered...
I had a Galaxy S3 before that, and when I installed ROMs on it, I used to copy the ROM zip file to my SD Card, remove everything from my phone's internal memory, and install the ROM from the external SD Card, that way there was NOTHING left on the phone that I previously had.
Now, I want to do the same thing with my Nexus 5, but guess what... It has no external SD Card option :\
What can I do? Is there any way to install a ROM and delete EVERYTHING I had in my phone before?

Thanks.
23rd June 2014, 01:38 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 221
 
2,187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
More
just wipe data before you flash.
23rd June 2014, 01:42 PM   |  #3  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,387
 
9,920 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
You can't easily do what you want. Best bet would be to get a otg usb stick and use it for your rom. Otherwise, you'd have to wipe your sdcard and sideload a rom in adb. Or just wipe your sdcard boot into system, and copy and paste the rom. Then boot into recovery and do your normal wipes

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
23rd June 2014, 03:15 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
116 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Otherwise, you'd have to wipe your sdcard and sideload a rom in adb.

Is using a single extra command really all that hard though?

"adb push <rom> /sdcard/<rom>"
23rd June 2014, 03:24 PM   |  #5  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 7,480
 
10,665 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trel

Is using a single extra command really all that hard though?

"adb push <rom> /sdcard/<rom>"

It is for the people that used a toolkit and have no idea what adb is..

#stayparanoid
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Pirateghost For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd June 2014, 06:07 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
116 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost

It is for the people that used a toolkit and have no idea what adb is..

#stayparanoid

Ah, I would never use the toolkit unless I know how to do things manually as well.
I like knowing what the toolkit is doing incase something goes wrong.
The Following User Says Thank You to Trel For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd June 2014, 06:43 PM   |  #7  
Ben36's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,651
 
5,955 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Why do you want to wipe all your photos and videos etc? You don't need to to flash a rom

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
24th June 2014, 12:46 AM   |  #8  
KJ's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag The boonies - southwest Ontario
Thanks Meter: 3,683
 
8,853 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben36

Why do you want to wipe all your photos and videos etc? You don't need to to flash a rom

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Yes, this ^^^

I've never ever wiped my internal SD on any device.

Unless you're just housekeeping? But you don't have to, at all.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank