Post Reply

[Resolved] Help! Weird problem with text-to-speech setting

9th June 2014, 09:30 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
I ran into a problem with the recent update to the Google Text-To-Speech app.

I was testing out and trying to decide between the new high quality US and UK English voices. Somehow my default language for speech got locked into UK English: I can no longer change it to anything else, even though my default device language is US English and I have downloaded both the low and high quality US English voices.

See my screenshots - despite me changing my chosen language to US English in the Google Text-to-speech Engine settings in the 1st screenshot, once I hit the back button (or exit via the home / recent apps buttons), my default language reverts to UK English as per the 2nd screenshot.

Is there any system file I can edit to change this absurd behaviour? I'm rooted and willing to get my hands dirty...

UPDATE:
I played around with settings and managed to resolve the problem.

Clearing data from / un- and re-installing the app / restoring data from another device didn't work - what did work was choosing another default device language (NOT the voice language under Text-to-speech output). This somehow released the "lock" on UK speech and allowed me to choose US instead. I then reverted the default device language to US English.

All is now good in the world
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-09-22-14-26.png
Views:	29
Size:	168.6 KB
ID:	2789707   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-09-22-14-39.png
Views:	26
Size:	170.2 KB
ID:	2789708  
Last edited by mlj11; 12th June 2014 at 09:39 AM. Reason: Update: found a solution to the problem
10th June 2014, 03:22 AM   |  #2  
Lethargy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere quiet.
Thanks Meter: 1,758
 
3,046 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Trying going to Google Text-to-speech or Google TTS, whichever one it is, in the app settings and clear data.

Sent from my Nexus 5
The Following User Says Thank You to Lethargy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th June 2014, 09:31 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lethargy

Trying going to Google Text-to-speech or Google TTS, whichever one it is, in the app settings and clear data.

Sent from my Nexus 5

That was one of the first things I tried, but it didn't help.

Anyway I managed to resolve the problem already. Gonna update the OP.
12th June 2014, 09:33 AM   |  #4  
Lethargy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere quiet.
Thanks Meter: 1,758
 
3,046 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlj11

That was one of the first things I tried, but it didn't help.

Anyway I managed to resolve the problem already. Gonna update the OP.

At least you got it worked out.

Sent from my Nexus 5
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
bug, problem, text-to-speech
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank