Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Can't see any ringtones at all, only "None"

OP 36red

2nd February 2014, 10:18 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
I can't see any ringtones for selection on my Nexus 5, only "None" is listed.
Under settings -> sound -> phone ringtone, "unknown ringtone" is listed.

Using the FX file manager app, I can see the Ringtones folder, and it's got a bunch of my own mp3s that I put there.

Yesterday I did a "clear app data" to try to resolve a different problem, and this may have caused it?

How can I get the phone to list all available ringtones again under 'settings'? Thanks for any help.
2nd February 2014, 10:41 PM   |  #2  
RevelationOmega's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 526
 
528 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 36red

I can't see any ringtones for selection on my Nexus 5, only "None" is listed.
Under settings -> sound -> phone ringtone, "unknown ringtone" is listed.

Using the FX file manager app, I can see the Ringtones folder, and it's got a bunch of my own mp3s that I put there.

Yesterday I did a "clear app data" to try to resolve a different problem, and this may have caused it?

How can I get the phone to list all available ringtones again under 'settings'? Thanks for any help.

Did you go back under the folder location to verify that they are still there besides the MP3s you put? Also, ringtones are generally .ogg files, so the custom songs you add must be .ogg files and reboot to show/work.
The Following User Says Thank You to RevelationOmega For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd February 2014, 11:47 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Thumbs up reboot did the trick!
the Ringtones folder only shows my own mp3s/oggs, not the stock ringtones.

anyway, i rebooted the phone and afterwards i was able to select my own ringtones, which incidentally can be in mp3 or ogg format.
(i tried this)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RevelationOmega

Did you go back under the folder location to verify that they are still there besides the MP3s you put? Also, ringtones are generally .ogg files, so the custom songs you add must be .ogg files and reboot to show/work.

3rd February 2014, 12:06 AM   |  #4  
RevelationOmega's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 526
 
528 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Donate to Me
More
Very good. Reboot generally needed to include ringtone data.

The end is near, into the Nexus we go!

Nexus 5 - Cataclysm - ART - Franco

Don't Forget to Hit the Thanks if I Helped!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes