Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,192 Members 38,209 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

RMA Nexus 5

Tip us?
 
J.Diogo
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 98
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default RMA Nexus 5

Hey guys, I'm thinking about RMA my nexus 5 because my power button is loose (we all know this problem) it doesn't bother me that much, but if I can have a new one that works fine why not, right?

So my question is, how do theses things usually go? Do I get to keep my current nexus until the new one arrives? Have you guys RMA about this problem and was it worth it?

Anyway, thanks for your attention.
 
devilsadidas
Old
#2  
devilsadidas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 148
Join Date: Nov 2010
If you bought it through Google you will have to pace a charge for the price of the phone on your credit card then they will send you a phone. You will send yours back in the same box. Shopping is included for free and once they get the phone the hold on your funds is removed
 
J.Diogo
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 98
Join Date: Jun 2012
So I have to "temporary" pay for another phone?
 
_MetalHead_
Old
#4  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,063
Posts: 5,185
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Diogo View Post
So I have to "temporary" pay for another phone?
It's just a hold. They usually release the funds within a day or two of receiving your old phone. Just went through two RMA's with them, it was pretty painless.
\m/(-_-)\m/
 
BirchBarlow
Old
#5  
BirchBarlow's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 344
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Philadelphia
I don't think they accept a loose power button as a valid reason for an RMA, so if you try you might just find yourself out the expense for the new phone.
Current Device


Previous Devices

Samsung Galaxy S4
LG Xenon
Motorola Slvr L7
Motorola T720
Nokia 3360

ElementalX Kernel
 
_MetalHead_
Old
#6  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,063
Posts: 5,185
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Quote:
Originally Posted by BirchBarlow View Post
I don't think they accept a loose power button as a valid reason for an RMA, so if you try you might just find yourself out the expense for the new phone.
They do. I RMA'd my first one solely because of an annoyingly loose volume rocker. They had no issue with it.
\m/(-_-)\m/
 
jd1639
Old
#7  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,323
Posts: 9,766
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by BirchBarlow View Post
I don't think they accept a loose power button as a valid reason for an RMA, so if you try you might just find yourself out the expense for the new phone.
Looks like you get a get out of jail free card with the n5 http://gizmodo.com/google-will-appar...r-h-1630258357

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
theesotericone
Old
#8  
theesotericone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 307
Posts: 593
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
Looks like you get a get out of jail free card with the n5 http://gizmodo.com/google-will-appar...r-h-1630258357

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
Nice find jd. Looks like that link could be useful to a lot of folks.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes