FORUMS

How a HTC Droid Eris Changed a Members Life

Rarely can a member say that Android development or XDA had a profound effect on … more

XDA Office Space: Frankenstein’s Perfect IM Client?

The portal’s decentralized XDA office lies in a Hangouts chatroom, where … more

Which IM Client on Android is best?

With so many different messengers to choose from, it can be tough to find the best one for you and … more

Android Factory Reset Security Flaw and More – XDA TV

Nvidia is releasing a 500Gb SHIELD TV Pro! That and much more news is … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

RMA Nexus 5

4th September 2014, 02:41 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Hey guys, I'm thinking about RMA my nexus 5 because my power button is loose (we all know this problem) it doesn't bother me that much, but if I can have a new one that works fine why not, right?

So my question is, how do theses things usually go? Do I get to keep my current nexus until the new one arrives? Have you guys RMA about this problem and was it worth it?

Anyway, thanks for your attention.
 
 
4th September 2014, 02:49 PM |#2  
devilsadidas's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kettering
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
If you bought it through Google you will have to pace a charge for the price of the phone on your credit card then they will send you a phone. You will send yours back in the same box. Shopping is included for free and once they get the phone the hold on your funds is removed
4th September 2014, 09:52 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
So I have to "temporary" pay for another phone?
4th September 2014, 10:39 PM |#4  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicagoland
Thanks Meter: 2,669
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Diogo

So I have to "temporary" pay for another phone?

It's just a hold. They usually release the funds within a day or two of receiving your old phone. Just went through two RMA's with them, it was pretty painless.
4th September 2014, 10:44 PM |#5  
BirchBarlow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 156
 
More
I don't think they accept a loose power button as a valid reason for an RMA, so if you try you might just find yourself out the expense for the new phone.
4th September 2014, 10:54 PM |#6  
_MetalHead_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicagoland
Thanks Meter: 2,669
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BirchBarlow

I don't think they accept a loose power button as a valid reason for an RMA, so if you try you might just find yourself out the expense for the new phone.

They do. I RMA'd my first one solely because of an annoyingly loose volume rocker. They had no issue with it.
5th September 2014, 12:03 AM |#7  
jd1639's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 4,683
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BirchBarlow

I don't think they accept a loose power button as a valid reason for an RMA, so if you try you might just find yourself out the expense for the new phone.

Looks like you get a get out of jail free card with the n5 http://gizmodo.com/google-will-appar...r-h-1630258357

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th September 2014, 01:06 AM |#8  
theesotericone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,601
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Looks like you get a get out of jail free card with the n5 http://gizmodo.com/google-will-appar...r-h-1630258357

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

Nice find jd. Looks like that link could be useful to a lot of folks.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes