Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,375 Members 45,502 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] RMA Prep Question

Tip us?
 
sadkuh
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default [Q] RMA Prep Question

Hello,

My Nexus 5 is making a cracking/popping noise when I touch the screen in the bottom right corner and I get all kinds of colored lines across the screen. I attached some pictures I have and no, the phone was never dropped. The lines go away when I press on the screen but come back until I reboot. I am planning on contacting Google for a warranty issue through google play store but I have a few questions. I have CyanogenMod M8 installed on it along with TWRP recovery along with Titanium Backup Pro and a slew of other paid apps and customizations for rooted phones.

1) I've seen mixed answers regarding restoring the phone prior to RMA..will they take my phone back with it being flashed or should I revert it to factory?
2) If going back to factory condition, should I do that BEFORE I contact them and they call me back regarding the phone issues?
3) If I want the new phone setup exactly like my current phone is now, what would I do? Is it as easy as making a full backup with TWRP and moving it to my computer then when the new phone comes in, get TWRP setup again then recover from the backup?

Thanks for any help you can give.!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20140523_194650.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	146.3 KB
ID:	2842596   Click image for larger version

Name:	20140523_194706.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	225.8 KB
ID:	2842597  
 
jd1639
Old
#2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3043
Posts: 9,067
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
I would flash the factory image before you send it back and restore the tamper flag. No need to do that before you call then as they'll probably have you try to do a factory reset.

You can make a nandroid in twrp, but DO NOT backup the efs partition. You'll be able to flash that on your new phone

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
raptir
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 167
Posts: 889
Join Date: May 2010
  1. Definitely restore it to stock using the factory images before sending it back. People have mixed opinions about locking the bootloader or not, but it's very easy to do so why not?
  2. I would restore it to stock before I called them. They may ask you to do some troubleshooting and might want you to tell them what some of the fields say in "About Phone" including the build number, and that's easier to give them if you're on stock rather than CM
  3. You can take a TWRP backup, but as mentioned above do not backup the EFS partition. If you restore EFS to a different phone you will lose your IMEI and will not be able to get cell service

I personally wouldn't bother with resetting the tamper flag but it can't hurt. I RMA'd two Nexus 4s before I even knew about the tamper flag and didn't have an issue. From my experience as long as it's back to stock Google doesn't seem to care if it's been rooted before.
The Following User Says Thank You to raptir For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sadkuh
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2013
Thanks for the information! Guess It's time to grab the LG flashtool since that will restore and reset the flag in one shot. I saw a nifty threat on it in the forum. Thanks again!
 
jwhyte
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 347
Posts: 958
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Milwaukee
Go back to stock first. They will make you do all the troubleshooting junk first factory reset etc. Once they determine that its hardware they will start the RMA process. I just RMA'd mine and went all the way back to stock locked bootloader and tamper flag reset just to be safe.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to jwhyte For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sadkuh
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2013
I went to make a backup and I attached a screenshot of my options, I don't see any EFS partition?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-07-09-17-28-56.png
Views:	23
Size:	180.3 KB
ID:	2842793  
 
jd1639
Old
#7  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3043
Posts: 9,067
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by sadkuh View Post
I went to make a backup and I attached a screenshot of my options, I don't see any EFS partition?
Just use twrp's typical backup. Don't select anything extra. Boot, system, data is all you need

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes