Post Reply

Root without Wipe

OP logicrulez

23rd January 2014, 08:35 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Philadelphia, PA
Thanks Meter: 5
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Is there a way to root my Nexus 5 without wiping the entire device? I've been looking around and all roads lead to unlocking the boot loader with adb, which wipes the device.

I remember on my GS2 & GS3 I could insert root into stock with just a couple of files, no flashing or adb.

Any help is appreciated.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
23rd January 2014, 08:38 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,083
 
2,866 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
no there isnt. this question gets asked once a week.
The Following User Says Thank You to Zepius For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd January 2014, 08:48 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Philadelphia, PA
Thanks Meter: 5
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Thanks

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
23rd January 2014, 08:51 PM   |  #4  
BirchBarlow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 126
 
356 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by logicrulez

Is there a way to root my Nexus 5 without wiping the entire device? I've been looking around and all roads lead to unlocking the boot loader with adb, which wipes the device.

I remember on my GS2 & GS3 I could insert root into stock with just a couple of files, no flashing or adb.

Any help is appreciated.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Fastboot, you use fastboot to unlock the bootloader and flash the custom recovery. And no there is no way without unlocking the bootloader. The reason unlocking the bootloader wipes the user data is for security so that someone can't steal the phone and then unlock it in order to steal your data.
23rd January 2014, 09:22 PM   |  #5  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 12,217
 
23,234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zepius

no there isnt. this question gets asked once a week.

What internet provider are you with? If I had no internet connection for 6 days a week, i'd complain

-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit
The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd January 2014, 09:24 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,083
 
2,866 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

What internet provider are you with? If I had no internet connection for 6 days a week, i'd complain

-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit

i see what you did there.
The Following User Says Thank You to Zepius For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank