Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,143 Members 52,300 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Root without Wipe

Tip us?
 
logicrulez
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 91
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Default Root without Wipe

Is there a way to root my Nexus 5 without wiping the entire device? I've been looking around and all roads lead to unlocking the boot loader with adb, which wipes the device.

I remember on my GS2 & GS3 I could insert root into stock with just a couple of files, no flashing or adb.

Any help is appreciated.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Current->
LG Nexus 5(Stock)
iPad Air(Stock)

Retired->
Samsung Galaxy S III(Stock/CM 11)
iPad 2(Stock)
Samsung Galaxy S II(Stock/CM10)
Samsung Captivate(CM9)
iPhone 3G(Stock/Jailbroken)
Blackberry World Phone
Palm Treo 700p
Palm Treo 650p
 
Zepius
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1072
Posts: 2,838
Join Date: Mar 2011
no there isnt. this question gets asked once a week.
Go back to stock on your nexus 5 using this guide: here

Tired of paying too much money for your phone plan? go prepaid!

Save money on refills for your prepaid plans: Use Callingmart

-Zep
The Following User Says Thank You to Zepius For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
logicrulez
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 91
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Thanks

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Current->
LG Nexus 5(Stock)
iPad Air(Stock)

Retired->
Samsung Galaxy S III(Stock/CM 11)
iPad 2(Stock)
Samsung Galaxy S II(Stock/CM10)
Samsung Captivate(CM9)
iPhone 3G(Stock/Jailbroken)
Blackberry World Phone
Palm Treo 700p
Palm Treo 650p
 
BirchBarlow
Old
#4  
BirchBarlow's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 121
Posts: 333
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Philadelphia
Quote:
Originally Posted by logicrulez View Post
Is there a way to root my Nexus 5 without wiping the entire device? I've been looking around and all roads lead to unlocking the boot loader with adb, which wipes the device.

I remember on my GS2 & GS3 I could insert root into stock with just a couple of files, no flashing or adb.

Any help is appreciated.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Fastboot, you use fastboot to unlock the bootloader and flash the custom recovery. And no there is no way without unlocking the bootloader. The reason unlocking the bootloader wipes the user data is for security so that someone can't steal the phone and then unlock it in order to steal your data.
 
rootSU
Old
#5  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10077
Posts: 21,202
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zepius View Post
no there isnt. this question gets asked once a week.
What internet provider are you with? If I had no internet connection for 6 days a week, i'd complain

-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to rootSU For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Zepius
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1072
Posts: 2,838
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU View Post
What internet provider are you with? If I had no internet connection for 6 days a week, i'd complain

-----------------------
Sent via tapatalk.

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM. Please keep support queries to the Q&A section, so that others may benefit
i see what you did there.
Go back to stock on your nexus 5 using this guide: here

Tired of paying too much money for your phone plan? go prepaid!

Save money on refills for your prepaid plans: Use Callingmart

-Zep
The Following User Says Thank You to Zepius For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes