FORUMS

XeroAsh Theme for CM12

This theme by XDA Senior Member balrajs99 features a black and slate gray UI that gives your phone a … more

Samsung Galaxy S6 To Receive Major Camera Update

When the Samsung Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge were launched, they became the prime focus for … more

Tactile: An Addicting Game with Beautiful Material Design

The game industry has been around for decades, catering to a wide … more

Android’s Consistency and The User Experience

This is a site of power users, and it is fair to say that most of us are more … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Rooted but hit the hotspot cap

26th January 2014, 02:04 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I was operating under the assumption that I'd be immune to the 2.5gb hotspot bandwidth cap if i were rooted and using FoxFi as my tethering method. Is there a way to use unlimited tether on TMO without paying the piper?

N5/Rooted/Clockwork Mod Recovery/Factory ROM
 
 
26th January 2014, 09:15 PM |#2  
thecircuitbox's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Nope.
26th January 2014, 09:33 PM |#3  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
BROOKLYN!
Thanks Meter: 24,281
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hairy.areola

I was operating under the assumption that I'd be immune to the 2.5gb hotspot bandwidth cap if i were rooted and using FoxFi as my tethering method. Is there a way to use unlimited tether on TMO without paying the piper?

N5/Rooted/Clockwork Mod Recovery/Factory ROM

all rooting does is give you superuser access, it doesnt give you any special powers. and no matter what you use to tether, the data still comes from your provider. your provider knows your device, and lets it access their network. when you access their network, they know everything that you are doing on it.
The Following User Says Thank You to simms22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th January 2014, 12:38 AM |#4  
akmsr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2512674&page=7
last post on this page.
27th January 2014, 06:31 AM |#5  
korockinout13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 533
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by akmsr

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2512674&page=7
last post on this page.

But this doesn't actually allow you to tether without the data being counted, does it? I thought it was a workaround for tethering not working at all, which I had to use in the past.
27th January 2014, 03:08 PM |#6  
akmsr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by korockinout13

But this doesn't actually allow you to tether without the data being counted, does it? I thought it was a workaround for tethering not working at all, which I had to use in the past.

the original post of this thread asked for a way to go past his data cap and my reply was for that. it will most probably let him go over 2.5G cap with the use of a user agent switcher.
for your question,But this doesn't actually allow you to tether without the data being counted, does it? yes and no.
yes because it lets you go past your cap
no because simms22 is right. anytime they want, they can look up your data use and crack down
read the thread i linked.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes