Post Reply

My Rooted N5, & Android 4.4.2

OP ItsStormy

14th February 2014, 04:18 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Hey guys, I have a rooted N5 with CF Auto Root. I have been trying to do a update to 4.4.2. however, every time I download it and go to install, I get a error upon reboot, The update doesn't install. I'm still rather new with rooting phones. I was hoping someone could give me some insight on how to install this? I had a friend tell me its possible to manually install the update if I could locate the files?

Thanks!
Last edited by ItsStormy; 14th February 2014 at 04:22 PM.
Hammer_Of_The_Gods
14th February 2014, 04:22 PM   |  #2  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Hi,

Take a look here: [INFO] Nexus 5 OTA Help-Desk, read closely

The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th February 2014, 04:33 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by viking37

Hi,

Take a look here: [INFO] Nexus 5 OTA Help-Desk, read closely

Ahh, excellent, thank you! However I'm a bit confused on what ADB Sideload is and how to use it. XD
14th February 2014, 04:36 PM   |  #4  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,144
 
8,553 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsStormy

Ahh, excellent, thank you! However I'm a bit confused on what ADB Sideload is and how to use it. XD

Install the android-sdk platform- tools, look here for how to https://www.google.nl/url?sa=t&rct=j...61190604,d.bGQ.
Then put the rom/OTA you want in the platform-tools folder, reboot in recovery and select adb sideload and then in cmd type `adb sideload namerom.zip` to flash the zip.
Last edited by gee2012; 14th February 2014 at 04:40 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gee2012 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th February 2014, 04:59 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Ooops, got it sorted, thanks guys!
Last edited by ItsStormy; 14th February 2014 at 05:03 PM.
14th February 2014, 05:04 PM   |  #6  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,144
 
8,553 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsStormy

Hi again, so I've gone over the tutorials. However when I attempt to go through the steps within http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2523217 - I keep getting the error 'adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks!

You have not created a path, look here http://www.redmondpie.com/how-to-set...dows-tutorial/ item 5, 6 and 7.
The Following User Says Thank You to gee2012 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th February 2014, 05:11 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Okay, so apparently thats only a issue if my phone isnt rooted judging by the first tutorial, it states I should follow section B.

1) Download the OTA.zip and copy to your phone.
2) Boot into recovery.
3) Flash the OTA just like you would a ROM.
4) Reboot.

However, When I boot into Recovery Mode, I get a error stating No Command.
14th February 2014, 05:17 PM   |  #8  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,144
 
8,553 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsStormy

Okay, so apparently thats only a issue if my phone isnt rooted judging by the first tutorial, it states I should follow section B.

1) Download the OTA.zip and copy to your phone.
2) Boot into recovery.
3) Flash the OTA just like you would a ROM.
4) Reboot.

However, When I boot into Recovery Mode, I get a error stating No Command.

Do you have a custom recovery? choose B. If on stock recovery boot in a custom recovery by placing the custom recovery.img in fastboot folder and type in cmd `fastboot boot namerecovery.img`, let it load and flash the OTA in recovery and boot up.
Last edited by gee2012; 14th February 2014 at 05:20 PM.
14th February 2014, 05:26 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by gee2012

Do you have a custom recovery? choose B. If on stock recovery boot in a custom recovery by placing the custom recovery.img in fastboot folder and type in cmd `fastboot boot namerecovery.img`, let it load and flash the OTA in recovery and boot up.

Eh. I don't believe so, or I'm not entirely sure, I'm sorry.
14th February 2014, 05:30 PM   |  #10  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,144
 
8,553 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsStormy

Eh. I don't believe so, or I'm not entirely sure, I'm sorry.

If you have stock recovery there should stand 3e recovery on top, if so reboot into bootloader and do what i wrote in the prior post. Or sideload the OTA with adb in stock recovery.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank