FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

My Rooted N5, & Android 4.4.2

7 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By ItsStormy, Junior Member on 14th February 2014, 04:18 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hey guys, I have a rooted N5 with CF Auto Root. I have been trying to do a update to 4.4.2. however, every time I download it and go to install, I get a error upon reboot, The update doesn't install. I'm still rather new with rooting phones. I was hoping someone could give me some insight on how to install this? I had a friend tell me its possible to manually install the update if I could locate the files?

Thanks!
Last edited by ItsStormy; 14th February 2014 at 04:22 PM.
 
 
Hammer_Of_The_Gods
14th February 2014, 04:22 PM |#2  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi,

Take a look here: [INFO] Nexus 5 OTA Help-Desk, read closely

The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th February 2014, 04:33 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by viking37

Hi,

Take a look here: [INFO] Nexus 5 OTA Help-Desk, read closely

Ahh, excellent, thank you! However I'm a bit confused on what ADB Sideload is and how to use it. XD
14th February 2014, 04:36 PM |#4  
gee2012's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,786
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsStormy

Ahh, excellent, thank you! However I'm a bit confused on what ADB Sideload is and how to use it. XD

Install the android-sdk platform- tools, look here for how to https://www.google.nl/url?sa=t&rct=j...61190604,d.bGQ.
Then put the rom/OTA you want in the platform-tools folder, reboot in recovery and select adb sideload and then in cmd type `adb sideload namerom.zip` to flash the zip.
Last edited by gee2012; 14th February 2014 at 04:40 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gee2012 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th February 2014, 04:59 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Ooops, got it sorted, thanks guys!
Last edited by ItsStormy; 14th February 2014 at 05:03 PM.
14th February 2014, 05:04 PM |#6  
gee2012's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,786
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsStormy

Hi again, so I've gone over the tutorials. However when I attempt to go through the steps within http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2523217 - I keep getting the error 'adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks!

You have not created a path, look here http://www.redmondpie.com/how-to-set...dows-tutorial/ item 5, 6 and 7.
The Following User Says Thank You to gee2012 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th February 2014, 05:11 PM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Okay, so apparently thats only a issue if my phone isnt rooted judging by the first tutorial, it states I should follow section B.

1) Download the OTA.zip and copy to your phone.
2) Boot into recovery.
3) Flash the OTA just like you would a ROM.
4) Reboot.

However, When I boot into Recovery Mode, I get a error stating No Command.
14th February 2014, 05:17 PM |#8  
gee2012's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,786
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsStormy

Okay, so apparently thats only a issue if my phone isnt rooted judging by the first tutorial, it states I should follow section B.

1) Download the OTA.zip and copy to your phone.
2) Boot into recovery.
3) Flash the OTA just like you would a ROM.
4) Reboot.

However, When I boot into Recovery Mode, I get a error stating No Command.

Do you have a custom recovery? choose B. If on stock recovery boot in a custom recovery by placing the custom recovery.img in fastboot folder and type in cmd `fastboot boot namerecovery.img`, let it load and flash the OTA in recovery and boot up.
Last edited by gee2012; 14th February 2014 at 05:20 PM.
14th February 2014, 05:26 PM |#9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gee2012

Do you have a custom recovery? choose B. If on stock recovery boot in a custom recovery by placing the custom recovery.img in fastboot folder and type in cmd `fastboot boot namerecovery.img`, let it load and flash the OTA in recovery and boot up.

Eh. I don't believe so, or I'm not entirely sure, I'm sorry.
14th February 2014, 05:30 PM |#10  
gee2012's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,786
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsStormy

Eh. I don't believe so, or I'm not entirely sure, I'm sorry.

If you have stock recovery there should stand 3e recovery on top, if so reboot into bootloader and do what i wrote in the prior post. Or sideload the OTA with adb in stock recovery.
Hammer_Of_The_Gods
14th February 2014, 05:35 PM |#11  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks for the help gee2012

I leave you in good hands

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes