Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

when rooting

OP honestorb

28th January 2014, 02:37 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Appoligies if asked b4 but is late and d8nt have band with tonight to go searching If I backup b4 rooting can I restore that backup after and the device be as is now but rooted
28th January 2014, 04:36 AM   |  #2  
LamboBull's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 303
 
1,111 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Your device would still have the custom recovery/unlocked bootloader,

But you would not have Superuser access.

To gain superuser access on that backup, just flash SuperSU v1.91 in recovery.

Hit that "thanks" button.
28th January 2014, 10:41 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 590
 
3,105 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
You can do that to some extent, but you will probably need to at least sign back into your accounts and rearrange the home screen to your liking. You can use something like this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2525026 (you can also do this manually with adb commands) or just one of the back up apps on the Play Store. Some are free, some are paid. Depends on how quick and easy you want the back up to go if you don't want to use the PC tool. Once you do that, then you can unlock the bootloader, root, then restore your stuff.
28th January 2014, 10:44 AM   |  #4  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,288
 
8,931 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by honestorb

Appoligies if asked b4 but is late and d8nt have band with tonight to go searching If I backup b4 rooting can I restore that backup after and the device be as is now but rooted

For me Helium Backup is a very good app that backups user apps and data, can be used with and without root. Titanium Backup is also very good but it requires root.
28th January 2014, 05:11 PM   |  #5  
mistahseller's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Saint Louis
Thanks Meter: 199
 
814 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
I never backup anything always good to start fresh. You could screw up something restoring from old data

Sent from The Deathstar
28th January 2014, 10:38 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 590
 
3,105 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistahseller

I never backup anything always good to start fresh. You could screw up something restoring from old data

Sent from The Deathstar

If you are on the same rom, then it typically isn't much of an issue. Problems arise when restoring from different versions or different roms altogether.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes