Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,777,785 Members 46,676 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

What router are you using (with ac wireless)

Tip us?
 
nitramus
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 105
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default What router are you using (with ac wireless)

I'm planing on changing my router for a new one that has ac wireless. Before I RMA my nexus 5 for that damn WiFi drop issue I thought it was time to try a New router but I would like to know who has a router with ac wireless and if you have any WiFi drop. So very easy.

Router manufacturer make and model.....
WiFi drop yes/no

Thanks

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
prsterero
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 593
Posts: 1,580
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dallas
I use a Asus RT-AC66R and love it. Never had an issue with any device. No drops either.

prshosting.org
 
markdapimp
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 323
Posts: 1,256
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nitramus View Post
I'm planing on changing my router for a new one that has ac wireless. Before I RMA my nexus 5 for that damn WiFi drop issue I thought it was time to try a New router but I would like to know who has a router with ac wireless and if you have any WiFi drop. So very easy.

Router manufacturer make and model.....
WiFi drop yes/no

Thanks

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Mine is no AC wireless but its certainly better than those Asus AC High performance routers
what I like is a balance between Coverage and performance a company called Amped Wireless In the USAMakes these types of routers not some cheap china/korean stuff

What I have is this http://www.ampedwireless.com/products/r20000g.html

It's got dual signal amplifiers each antenna port is outputting 600Mw of power that's face melting wifi right there. Most routers don't even output 100Mw. Routers with internal antennas put out only like 50Mw and have no signal noise filters.

So overall my router is a bit overkill but somehow my Nexus 5 manages to drop the connection lol... my other devices don't exhibit such behavior though.

I'm guessing this is software and I'll wait till Android 4.5 comes I have a year anyway from LG to RMA
Devices: Nexus 5 (Sold) 1X
Nexus 5
HTC One
 
Elisha
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 424
Posts: 2,012
Join Date: Oct 2007
Netgear Nighthawk R7000.

Sent from my Nexus 5
 
ilostmypistons
Old
#5  
ilostmypistons's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 216
Posts: 911
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: McHenry Il
Cheap Netgear... About $100
Screenshot is in my backyard about 60 to 70 feet away. I have no WiFi signal drop.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1393897894787.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	66.4 KB
ID:	2611962  
 
nitramus
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 105
Join Date: Jan 2013
Thanks all and keep it coming

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
ilostmypistons
Old
#7  
ilostmypistons's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 216
Posts: 911
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: McHenry Il
Quote:
Originally Posted by nitramus View Post
Thanks all and keep it coming

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Did you check what channel your routers using or if there's a conflict with a nearby router on the same channel. My wife's Macbook pro couldn't hold a WiFi signal from 6 feet away yet every other device in our house had no problems. What I did was took the router off auto and set it to use a specific channel that no other routers within a couple hundred feet where using. Now the MBP has been rock solid since. Turns out me and two neibors were all on channel 6. All my Asus Transformers where real sensitive to signal also.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to ilostmypistons For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
markdapimp
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 323
Posts: 1,256
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilostmypistons View Post
Did you check what channel your routers using or if there's a conflict with a nearby router on the same channel. My wife's Macbook pro couldn't hold a WiFi signal from 6 feet away yet every other device in our house had no problems. What I did was took the router off auto and set it to use a specific channel that no other routers within a couple hundred feet where using. Now the MBP has been rock solid since. Turns out me and two neibors were all on channel 6. All my Asus Transformers where real sensitive to signal also.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Hey you might have just fixed my Nexus 5 wifi dropping issue 3 of my Neighbors are using channel 6 also. Whats up with Auto on routers defaulting to channel 6. Anyways it seems good now !
Devices: Nexus 5 (Sold) 1X
Nexus 5
HTC One
 
ilostmypistons
Old
(Last edited by ilostmypistons; 4th March 2014 at 02:42 AM.)
#9  
ilostmypistons's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 216
Posts: 911
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: McHenry Il
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdapimp View Post
Hey you might have just fixed my Nexus 5 wifi dropping issue 3 of my Neighbors are using channel 6 also. Whats up with Auto on routers defaulting to channel 6. Anyways it seems good now !
I should be able to tune that super router to send out solid long range 5G

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
david279
Old
#10  
david279's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1556
Posts: 5,071
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Orleans

 
DONATE TO ME
Netgear routers like channel 6

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

------------------------

My G+ Profile

BB PIN: 79807B1C

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes