Post Reply

What router are you using (with ac wireless)

OP nitramus

3rd March 2014, 11:56 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
I'm planing on changing my router for a new one that has ac wireless. Before I RMA my nexus 5 for that damn WiFi drop issue I thought it was time to try a New router but I would like to know who has a router with ac wireless and if you have any WiFi drop. So very easy.

Router manufacturer make and model.....
WiFi drop yes/no

Thanks

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
4th March 2014, 12:33 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 620
 
1,621 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
I use a Asus RT-AC66R and love it. Never had an issue with any device. No drops either.

prshosting.org
4th March 2014, 12:36 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 325
 
1,283 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nitramus

I'm planing on changing my router for a new one that has ac wireless. Before I RMA my nexus 5 for that damn WiFi drop issue I thought it was time to try a New router but I would like to know who has a router with ac wireless and if you have any WiFi drop. So very easy.

Router manufacturer make and model.....
WiFi drop yes/no

Thanks

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Mine is no AC wireless but its certainly better than those Asus AC High performance routers
what I like is a balance between Coverage and performance a company called Amped Wireless In the USAMakes these types of routers not some cheap china/korean stuff

What I have is this http://www.ampedwireless.com/products/r20000g.html

It's got dual signal amplifiers each antenna port is outputting 600Mw of power that's face melting wifi right there. Most routers don't even output 100Mw. Routers with internal antennas put out only like 50Mw and have no signal noise filters.

So overall my router is a bit overkill but somehow my Nexus 5 manages to drop the connection lol... my other devices don't exhibit such behavior though.

I'm guessing this is software and I'll wait till Android 4.5 comes I have a year anyway from LG to RMA
4th March 2014, 01:49 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 489
 
2,232 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Netgear Nighthawk R7000.

Sent from my Nexus 5
4th March 2014, 01:55 AM   |  #5  
ilostmypistons's Avatar
Senior Member
McHenry Il
Thanks Meter: 217
 
914 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Cheap Netgear... About $100
Screenshot is in my backyard about 60 to 70 feet away. I have no WiFi signal drop.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1393897894787.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	66.4 KB
ID:	2611962  
4th March 2014, 02:04 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Thanks all and keep it coming

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
4th March 2014, 02:21 AM   |  #7  
ilostmypistons's Avatar
Senior Member
McHenry Il
Thanks Meter: 217
 
914 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nitramus

Thanks all and keep it coming

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Did you check what channel your routers using or if there's a conflict with a nearby router on the same channel. My wife's Macbook pro couldn't hold a WiFi signal from 6 feet away yet every other device in our house had no problems. What I did was took the router off auto and set it to use a specific channel that no other routers within a couple hundred feet where using. Now the MBP has been rock solid since. Turns out me and two neibors were all on channel 6. All my Asus Transformers where real sensitive to signal also.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to ilostmypistons For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th March 2014, 02:25 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 325
 
1,283 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilostmypistons

Did you check what channel your routers using or if there's a conflict with a nearby router on the same channel. My wife's Macbook pro couldn't hold a WiFi signal from 6 feet away yet every other device in our house had no problems. What I did was took the router off auto and set it to use a specific channel that no other routers within a couple hundred feet where using. Now the MBP has been rock solid since. Turns out me and two neibors were all on channel 6. All my Asus Transformers where real sensitive to signal also.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Hey you might have just fixed my Nexus 5 wifi dropping issue 3 of my Neighbors are using channel 6 also. Whats up with Auto on routers defaulting to channel 6. Anyways it seems good now !
4th March 2014, 02:33 AM   |  #9  
ilostmypistons's Avatar
Senior Member
McHenry Il
Thanks Meter: 217
 
914 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdapimp

Hey you might have just fixed my Nexus 5 wifi dropping issue 3 of my Neighbors are using channel 6 also. Whats up with Auto on routers defaulting to channel 6. Anyways it seems good now !

I should be able to tune that super router to send out solid long range 5G

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Last edited by ilostmypistons; 4th March 2014 at 02:42 AM.
4th March 2014, 02:42 AM   |  #10  
david279's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Orleans
Thanks Meter: 1,619
 
5,236 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Donate to Me
More
Netgear routers like channel 6

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank