5,815,214 Members 38,959 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Run-time selection not switching

Tip us?
 
Sam_in_PGH
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 75
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default Run-time selection not switching

Hello,

Not sure if this is an issue that has been brought up before but when I switch my runtime from Dalvik to ART, it reboots my N5 and goes straight to my home screen. I know it is supposed to take much longer because of the conversion. Also, when I go back to Developer Options, the runtime is is still Dalvik.

Any suggestions to fix?
 
RevelationOmega
Old
#2  
RevelationOmega's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 511
Posts: 514
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tallahassee

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam_in_PGH View Post
Hello,

Not sure if this is an issue that has been brought up before but when I switch my runtime from Dalvik to ART, it reboots my N5 and goes straight to my home screen. I know it is supposed to take much longer because of the conversion. Also, when I go back to Developer Options, the runtime is is still Dalvik.

Any suggestions to fix?
Do you use Xposed Framework? If so, its not compatible and will not allow the conversion to ART.
From the depths, the light is all you see.... Life's Good in QHD.


LG G3 - Stock - No Root (yet...)
Samsung S5 - Stock Deodexed - Root
Google Nexus 5 - Liquid Smooth - Root

Don't Forget to Hit the THANKS if I Helped!
 
simms22
Old
#3  
simms22's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 21,482
Posts: 25,858
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: BROOKLYN!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam_in_PGH View Post
Hello,

Not sure if this is an issue that has been brought up before but when I switch my runtime from Dalvik to ART, it reboots my N5 and goes straight to my home screen. I know it is supposed to take much longer because of the conversion. Also, when I go back to Developer Options, the runtime is is still Dalvik.

Any suggestions to fix?
what rom are you using? and are you using any xposed modules? if you are using xposed, its not compatible with art and wont let you use it.
Google+ Profile
Twitter Simms22
DerKernel For Trinity kernels and more!
 
Sam_in_PGH
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 75
Join Date: Jun 2013
Well thank you both for the quick answer to that question and yes, its Xposed stopping it.
 
RevelationOmega
Old
#5  
RevelationOmega's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 511
Posts: 514
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tallahassee

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam_in_PGH View Post
Well thank you both for the quick answer to that question and yes, its Xposed stopping it.
Ran into this issue while back and deleted it completely since didn't really need it. Good luck.
From the depths, the light is all you see.... Life's Good in QHD.


LG G3 - Stock - No Root (yet...)
Samsung S5 - Stock Deodexed - Root
Google Nexus 5 - Liquid Smooth - Root

Don't Forget to Hit the THANKS if I Helped!
 
Dragn4rce
Old
#6  
Dragn4rce's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 334
Posts: 1,498
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Anaheim

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by RevelationOmega View Post
Ran into this issue while back and deleted it completely since didn't really need it. Good luck.
You traded xposed for ART....

Sent from my ѣ$ 5
 
RevelationOmega
Old
#7  
RevelationOmega's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 511
Posts: 514
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tallahassee

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragn4rce View Post
You traded xposed for ART....

Sent from my ѣ$ 5
Yeah, between the ROM, kernel, and what I needed, the modules I used for Xposed were not enough to keep me with it. I didn't use that many so getting rid of it was easier than someone who uses Xposed almost exclusively for many Mods. ART seemed to run smoother for me (even if placebo) and felt like it wasn't necessary to keep Xposed if I don't use it.
From the depths, the light is all you see.... Life's Good in QHD.


LG G3 - Stock - No Root (yet...)
Samsung S5 - Stock Deodexed - Root
Google Nexus 5 - Liquid Smooth - Root

Don't Forget to Hit the THANKS if I Helped!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes