Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,311 Members 48,813 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Screen shuts off immediately

Tip us?
 
rain175
Old
(Last edited by rain175; 8th April 2014 at 05:26 PM.) Reason: Forgot to add information
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 55
Join Date: Mar 2007
Default Screen shuts off immediately

So, I broke my screen. Being A+ certified, I don't mind replacing it myself, which is what I did. Even though I have never opened the phone before following the guide was simple, and everything worked just fine... I turned it on and viola! Screen looked great, wifi working, LTE working!

Then I tried to open Hangouts to answer a text from my wife, and the screen shut off like I hit the lock button. Hitting the power button brought the screen back up, but now when I try to unlock it, the screen shuts off like I hit the power button. After a couple of restart this happens with all apps, third party and google. So, I took out the power button and used a tool to turn the phone on, thinking the physical button was depressing the button on the mobo. That didn't help. Then I booted into safe mode, no dice, did the same thing. So I did a factory reset, because I got into fast boot mode with no issues, and screen never timed out. After the factory reset, I got the screen that asked me to choose a language, and as soon as I pressed english the screen shut off. Now, pressing the power button brings the screen back, but then it immediately shuts off again like I was constantly pressing the button.

Anyone have any ideas?

I also should add that I tried putting back all the components in the original broke screen housing, and had the same problem...
 
spinninbsod
Old
#2  
spinninbsod's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 493
Join Date: May 2013
Location: new york city
I had the same problem with an lg g2 might be something wrong with mobo or some kinda hardware problem try finding a replacement mobo they are probably not that expensive

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
rain175
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 55
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinninbsod View Post
I had the same problem with an lg g2 might be something wrong with mobo or some kinda hardware problem try finding a replacement mobo they are probably not that expensive

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
I would imagine a replacement mobo would be very expensive since that is what is carrying the proc, memory, radio, ect ect ect... Basically everything on the phone is on the mobo. I couldn't find one in a quick search anyway...
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes