Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,424 Members 35,931 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] nexus 5 poor WiFi signal

Tip us?
 
HasnaCuz
Old
#1  
HasnaCuz's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Sydney
Default [Q] nexus 5 poor WiFi signal

Hi all, new here, please take it easy if I posted in wrong thread but many of us users especially me, the nexus 5 has very poor WiFi signal.
At home my nexus 7 2013 has full WiFi bars and like 3 metres away from router and on the other hand the nexus 5 has one bar wtf

Please help I'm running stock rooted 4.4.3 Franco r52
 
HasnaCuz
Old
#2  
HasnaCuz's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Sydney
Is there anyone who can help?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
HasnaCuz
Old
#3  
HasnaCuz's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Sydney
I'm being patient still

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
HasnaCuz
Old
#4  
HasnaCuz's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Sydney
Anyone going to help???????

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
jbdan
Old
#5  
jbdan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 521
Posts: 2,214
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Atlanta
The question is, do you still stay connected to WiFi and does it work properly? If so I wouldn't worry about "how many bars I have"

N5
"The mind set on the Spirit is life and peace" <><
 
jackylim
Old
#6  
jackylim's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 53
Join Date: Dec 2013
Mine too. I find out that the WiFi signal is not really good. I had a HTC butterfly I put it together HTC got 4 bar and Nexus 5 got 1-2 bar....

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

---------- Post added at 01:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:35 PM ----------

The Nexus 5 WiFi signal is really very weak...dunno will Google do something on it not?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
 
HasnaCuz
Old
#7  
HasnaCuz's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Sydney
It must be a hardware issue, getting repaired soon by lg in Australia

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
bblzd
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 294
Posts: 1,315
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Toronto
Not sure quite how to say this but basically, "bars" are not an accurate form of measurement, nor are they comparable between devices.

Do a speed test and compare transfer speed and latency.
W32
 
Sensamic
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 697
Join Date: Jul 2010
Weak Wi-Fi signal was one of the reasons I returned my Nexus 5.

My SGS3 had two more bars than the Nexus 5 in my living room.

Poor Wi-Fi antenna probably. Can't expect more for 350$.
 
theesotericone
Old
#10  
theesotericone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 308
Posts: 593
Join Date: Sep 2013
Bars are a joke. Some manufactures set the bars to be full at very low dBm levels. Hence why some phone have "GREAT" wifi coverage and some need "help". lol Get Wifi Analyzer from the play store. Load it up on both devices. See how the dBm levels differ from the same spot. If the N7 has more dBm's then the N5 than you have conclusive proof to back your complaint. Should take all of three minutes to to some testing. Let us know the results.

The Following User Says Thank You to theesotericone For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes